What's new

Need help on setting up the HTiB and TV and HD Cable Box (1 Viewer)

spyder

Auditioning
Real Name
Andy Hung
Hi all. I'm new to this forum and I'm new to home theater. I recently bought a HD TV (JVC 61" FC97) from Costco, a Samsung HTiB system (HT-TX75) and have service from Comcast for HD+DVR.

When I connect the HD+DVR cable box to the TV directly through HDMI, everything is great. I can watch regular SD channels and HD channels without any problem. However, I have problem involving the HTiB for watching TV.

The basic connection works:
* Cable Box HDMI Out to TV HDMI In-1.
* HTiB HDMI Out to TV HDMI IN-2.
Result: I can watch TV w/o problems. I can watch DVD from HTiB w/o problems too.

However, I can't get it to work with the following connection:
1) * Cable Box HDMI Out to HTiB HDMI In.
* HTiB HDMI Out to TV HDMI In-1 (TV HDMI In-2 is unused).
Result: I can watch High Def channels with Audio coming out from the HTiB. However, I can't watch SD channels because there is only sounds from the HTiB but no pictures.
No Problem watching DVD.

2) * Cable Box HDMI Out to TV HDMI In-1.
* TV Optical Audio Out to HTiB Optical Audio.
* HTiB HDMI Out to TV HDMI In-2.
Result: I can watch either HD or SD TV w/o problems. However, the audio is still coming out from TV's speakers. The HTiB doesn't do anything.
No Problem watching DVD.

3) * Cable Box HDMI Out to TV HDMI IN-1.
* Cable Box Optical Out to HTiB Optical Audio.
* HTiB HDMI Out to TV HDMI In-2.
Result: Same as #2. Basically the HTiB doesn't do anything.

Would you please provide some suggestion on how to set these units up? Thank you for your help.

spyder

Auditioning
Real Name
Andy Hung
Thank you for the suggestion. I re-checked the manual, but the section you refer to is about Anynet+ which is a Samsung specific function to allow Samsung's TV remote to control both a Samsung TV and a Samsung HTiB.

However, my TV is a JVC, so it is not Anynet+ compatible and this function is not usable.