What's new

Need advice on a home stereo (1 Viewer)

Wineles

Auditioning
Real Name
Jonathan
So begins my first post:

Im a newbie to home audio but have been in the car audio scene for awhile and know a lot about audio in general as well. Im looking to piece together a home system that will primarily be used for music but will be used for some movie watching as well. Im not that interested in surround sound right now. I just need a good receiever, a pair of speakers and a good sub, in that order. Im on a tight budget but I want to purchase decent equipment. I have been doing my research on here and right now Im looking into a Harman Kardon receiever, a pair of AV123 x-ls bookshelf speakers, and (if i can afford it) an SVS cylinder sub. I like the HK 3380 stereo receiver because it has composite video inputs, unlike the stereo receivers offered by Onkyo, which could be useful for a DVD player, cable box, game console and DLO Home Deluxe ipod dock I would like to use in my system. However, I have also looked into the the AV 140 as well for the option to have surround sound down the road. But I am open to suggestions. Should I just start with the 2-channel for now? My budget for the receiever is low, maybe $200 used/refurbished if its a good one. As for the speakers the x-ls seem to get good reviews but again Im open to suggestions. Im looking for some nice bookshelf speakers. $300 is my budget for the speakers. As for the sub I know everyone loves the SVS subs and I'd like to get one but is there anything else cheaper than $400 that comes close to the performance of SVS subs? Thanks for any help

Danny Tse

Senior HTF Member
Can you tell us about your room and your listening habits? Like....do you crank your volume until concert level is reached? Will you be interested in multi-channel music (i.e. SACD, DVD-A/V, or DualDisc)?