What's new

Music Lessons - - How do I choose the best instructor for my needs? (1 Viewer)

Brian Harnish

Screenwriter
Since I got my new hearing aid, I'm finally able to distinguish (very accurately) between different pitches and notes in music. And, of course, I have realized how bad I need lessons for singing. I'm not a complete newbie -- I can sing somewhat and play the piano (though not in a professional capacity). Reading music is very easy for me. I'm gonna need lessons if I want to become a professional singer/performer (which is what I ultimately want to do).

I'm seriously considering music lessons from California Music Studios. However, everytime I call, no one can give me any specific information (it seems as if all the numbers I can find are for an answering service for this company). Is this normal? I really want to get voice lessons (as well as piano + guitar but only voice for now) but if I can't get any information out of anyone (they do return my calls, however) then I'm seriously considering checking out other avenues for lessons.

Has anyone here used California Music studios? They seem to be pretty good according to their web site (which, of course, can be misleading) but I would like to get feedback from others. Also would like some feedback on other companies/instructors of singing and musical instruments that I could sign up with.

My ultimate goal is to be able to perform onstage and record music in a professional capacity.

Orlando

Stunt Coordinator
Well congrats on your hearing ad.

First off let me start off by saying it is going to be really tough to get to that level. But I am sure you knew that already. But just in case :)

Also let me say that I know nothing of the place you are talking about so I can not help you there.

I studied professionally for years. (woodwinds and brass)So it might not apply but being in the business for a while I can tell you how it will go.