Madcatz HDTV Component Selector

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Jason Sweet, Aug 20, 2003.

  1. Jason Sweet

    Jason Sweet Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 1999
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, I picked up the new Mad Catz HDTV component input selector at Gamestop yesterday for $30.
    I'd been waiting for this unit, as a affordable alternative to use with my 3 HD systems. At first it seemed to work great, I noticed immediate improvements to brightness and sharpness. In fact the difference was so much that my TV's setting had to be adjusted to compensate. I had been runnig all 3 systems to one component input using 2 Y adapters per jack. The picture was good, but my PS2 always looked dark. So I hooked the MadCatz up, things are looking good, proscan is working, but now as I play GR:IT I notice wavy interference lines scrolling in the background. Not major ones, but definitely noticeable, and I know they'll drive me crazy. Only the Xbox is affected. My GC, PS2 and DVD all looked good. I tried various combinations of component cables, different inputs, moving my system, etc.
    Does anyone know what to try? Xbox straight to the set has no interference. Through the selector it does. However, none of the other systems are affected. Can anyone help? If not my friend might buy it off me to try at his house, and I'll have to go back to Y adapters, and I really don't want to do that.
     
  2. Dave F

    Dave F Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    2,885
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  3. Tom Fudold

    Tom Fudold Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 1998
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jason, you'll pay about $80 for this one... but it will keep your signals clean. It's worth it over the Y-jacks... in my opinion.

    JVC
     
  4. GlenHaag

    GlenHaag Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm still looking for one with more than 4 inputs. I have my Xbox, PS2, Gamecube, DirecTV reciever, and DVD player to hook up.

    Too many components....

    Glen
     
  5. Doug_H

    Doug_H Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2000
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is just one thought but if you are playing an Xbox game in 720p the box may not have the bandwidth to pass it. Most boxes only pass 10 mhz while hD signals 720p/1080i are happier with a 30 mhz capable box.
     
  6. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried a different game in your Xbox? It could be just GRIT that is causing the problem.
     
  7. Jason Sweet

    Jason Sweet Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 1999
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried Madden and a few ohers as well. The lines appear on the startup and dashboard too (ie all the time).
    It can't be a 720p problem because my TV doesn't do 720p so it isn't on.
    And the reason the brightness and sharpness were different is because the picture settings were calibrated using the y adapters, which darkened the image. Remove the y's, the darkness goes away and the picture settings need to be readjusted. It wasn't a problem from the Madcatz.
    I'm just wondering why the Xbox is so affected and nothing else is. It works fine for the other systems. Any other ideas?
     
  8. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would try taking it back for a new one. Sounds like you have a defective unit.
     

Share This Page