What's new

looking for kit or instruction for complete 5.1 speakers (1 Viewer)

I'm new to the HT thing but I would like to build my own speakers. My thinking is for the price I can make better speakers than I can buy. I'd like to stay with a smalish size for the SAF, also cost is a factor. If I gather components slowly I could see spending 500 - 800 (not including the sub)
I found a good example of the level of instructions I'm looking for at
http://www.geocities.com/kreskovs/John1.html
with his ls3/5a. I've also been reading the forums and looked at madisound and PE but I'm realy looking for a recommendation. As soon as I finish our addition we can have our sony 40"xbr delivered (I can't wait). This is where the tv will be going ( http://home.wi.rr.com/dkraemer/46-TV_goes%20here.JPG )

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks,
davidk

Greg Yeatts

Second Unit
Check out the Audax Home Theater kit. I built this kit and I love it. The center channel and the l/r speakers are outstanding. The surrounds do their job well. Look on the Audax site for the DIY section.

Thanks for the suggestions, the Audax setup looks like it might work. A little big for the center speaker.

When looking through the parts list for the x-over how critical is it to get the exact components? I'm looking through PE and one of the coils is listed to be 1.2mH 16AWG, PE only has it in 14AWG. Is this something I should search harder for? I can make the correct values for the caps and resistors but I don't think you can combine coils, right?

Another question would be if I were to purchase a comparable "store bought" set like the Audax what could I expect to spend? I realize how something sounds is subjective but will I be able to build something that has better sounds than a "store bought" with the same money?

Again, thanks for putting up with my naive questions.