joining component cables

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by sam_canavo, Mar 5, 2004.

  1. sam_canavo

    sam_canavo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone see a real problem with joining 2 12ft component
    cables or will it degrade the signal significantly.
     
  2. Rick_Brown

    Rick_Brown Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it will downgrade "significantly" at all. Just buy quality connectors.
     
  3. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    The connector's not really the problem here but you should give a little thought as to what two component cables you're hooking up. The net run's going to be 24 feet (25's are commercially available) and you just want to be sure that the cable is something like an RG59 type so that your signal losses are reasonable.
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sam: as with most things cables, the effect will depend on:

    - How large your display is
    - How high-frequency the video signals on the cable are

    You are NOT likely to see an issue pushing standard component video to a 40" or less RPTV or tube system.

    Move up to a HDTV system pushing progressive or HD video and a 50-100" display (projector) - it 'could' create visible issues.

    My advice: do a test.

    Get a copy of Avia or Video Essentials and look for the fine-focus test pattern (white background with lots of thin, black lines in sun-burst patterns). Get this image up with a single cable and pay attention to how fine the black lines look.

    Now hook in the second cable and see if the image changes to a major degree. See if the fine black lines appear fuzzier or develop 'ghosts'.

    The problem with 'connecting' 2 cables is this: the video signals want a uniform 75 ohm impedence path. The RCA plugs are usually NOT 75 ohms and barrel-connectors are also never 75 ohms. So you are adding 2 RCA plugs and a un-determined barrel connector to each cable. When a high-frequency signal hits this - it's like a speed-bump. This 'bump' can cause reflections which you notice as a loss-of-focus or a ghost.

    If your test does not show any problems - you are good to go.
     
  5. sam_canavo

    sam_canavo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.

    I picked up the other 12ft and didn't noticed any ghosting,
    although I'm going from s-video to component so I did see
    an improvement.

    I then realized if I was to mount the projector the cable
    still won't be long enough.

    So now my thinking is to return this stuff and buy some
    rg6 or 59 and get gold plated rca connectors. I would
    attempt to strip the cable and do it properly but just don't
    have the tools.

    By the way the set up is x1 with 80x60 dalite white matte
    from about 16 ft. I would like the cable run to be about
    40 feet.

    Any thoughts or problems with this.

    Thanks
     
  6. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope, as you said just go for it. Give thoughts to where you'll be running your cable, flexibility, weight, etc. Out of curiousity, what cables were you using?
     
  7. sam_canavo

    sam_canavo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have a surplus store in my area and they sell a product
    called legend premium series. The box states: High Grade
    video cable, OFC material and gold plated.

    I know they aren't the best but for 12ft/20 bucks I
    thought I would give it a shot.
    Couldn't find much about them on the net.

    In Canada buying monster or AR runs over 100 for 3 metres
    and at this point I am not spending that much.

    I guess I will give the rg6 or 59 a shot and pickup
    the gold connectors at Radio Shack.

    At this point I just can't justify the cost of 40ft of
    component.

    Till I mount the projector they will be running along
    the baseboards.
     
  8. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    any idea what resolution you'll be pushing?
     
  9. sam_canavo

    sam_canavo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    The infocus is 800x600.

    I am using Panny rv31 and digital cable box.

    The rv31 is non progressive but has the Faroudja chip
    and so does the x1.

    Hope this answers you questions?
     
  10. sam_canavo

    sam_canavo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to give an update.

    Went to home depot today picked up 3x40ft rg59, some twist
    on f-connectors, had rca adapters and now have component
    video cables.

    Still running s-video from digital cable box until they
    either upgrade box to component or I switch to HD.

    Thanks for the replies.

    I know it's not monster cable but cheap and easy.
     
  11. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    so long as the center conductors were 100% copper and you did a reasonable job with the connectors, you did good.
     

Share This Page