Is Panny really progressive?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jason Caudill, Jun 20, 2003.

  1. Jason Caudill

    Jason Caudill Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hopefully someone here has some insight into this issue. While hooking up several new panasonic dvd players (dvds55s and dvds35s) I noticed that my displays (Mitsubishi WS65x11's and Hitachi Plasmas) both show that the signal is 480i. I enabled the progressive feature on the menus but that did not help. I also played with the re-master feature but nothing. If anyone has any clue let me know. Thanks, Jason
     
  2. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    The BK
    Real Name:
    ManW
    You need to turn it on in 2 different places. First, in the regular system setup menu. Then, in the display toolbar under the section where you can fine tune the picture for different picture modes, including Cinema and User modes. It's called Transfer type, IIRC.

    _Man_
     
  3. Nick Graham

    Nick Graham Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jason, the new Pannys require you to switch it to 480p in two different places. I myself was thrown off by this until I found the second place to go in the manual.
     
  4. Jason Caudill

    Jason Caudill Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, I will take a closer look at this.
     
  5. Mike Nep

    Mike Nep Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you find it? That drove me crazy for quite awhile until I figured it out.[​IMG]
     

Share This Page