What's new

Inherited a CRT FP - How to Integrate It? (1 Viewer)

Drew_Linsalata

Auditioning
Hi folks,

Just got my hands on an Electrohome ECP4000 for just about nothing, and now I have to figure out how to integrate it into my system. Warning - I am a total projection newbie!

The ECP4000 appears to have 2 composite, 2 RGBHV and 1 S-Video input. Here are my sources right now:

Digital cable box: Composite and S-Video out
Pioneer Elite DVD: Composite, S-Video and Component out
Phillips Hi-Fi VCR: Composite out

All three are using composite connections to my Marantz A/V receiver, which then does composite to an aging 32" RCA TV. The Marantz does have S-Video output, but no component video switching at all.

The VCR really doesnt matter much. Its really just for the videos the kids watch, none of which are HT quality anyway. Its the DVD and the cable box that are our primary sources. I'll upgrade to HD cable which means Cablevision will drop in a box with component out.

OK, gurus. What would you do with the ECP4000? I guess the easiest thing would just be to do S-Video from the receiver to the projector and let it go, it seems a shame to waste the component outputs of the DVD player (progressive scan) and the HD cable box. What about a line doubler? Will I need one given the sources?

Many thanks in advance for your willingness to impart wisdom.
:)

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
also make sure you grab the manuals so you know what you're doing to set this thing up, and search on ECP stuff there at AVS, there is a lot of great info on these little units, and if you get stuck there are a lot more CRT gurus hanging about than you think.

TimG

Second Unit