What's new

I, Claudius Worth a blind purchase? (1 Viewer)

Johnny Jr.

Stunt Coordinator
Hi everyone,
Yes this is my first post and I am a newbie. WOO HOO! Now that I have made a fool of myself I have a question. Is the current I, Claudius dvd box set worth a blind purchase? I have always wanted to see this series and have never caught it on PBS. Also curious if this is a 5 or 3 disc set and how is the audio/video quality.

Jesse Leonard

Second Unit
I had originally planned on blind purchasing this, also. But then I caught an episode on PBS and I am glad that I didn't. My opinion is that this is definetly a rental first (or hopefully catch an episode on PBS).

Allan Petersen

Stunt Coordinator
I love this series but I haven't gotten around to buying the DVD release yet (too many titles on my wishlist:b).
Don't expect great visuals, however. I know people who will never watch it because of the theatre-like production. The sets and costumes are nice but don't expect Gladiator-style production values. This is television drama, and very good drama IMO.
EDIT: Oh, where are my manners? WELCOME TO THE FORUM! :D

Kevin M

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Kevin Ray
You can rent it through Netflix. I did and I loved it but it isn't for everyone.

Peter McM

Screenwriter
Real Name
Peter
I've loved this drama ever since it debuted in the '70s. The DVD is the full version with all the tidbits (read, nudity;) ) that American PBS always edits.
A wonderful transfer, the only noticeable age showing during the opening theme. Sound is good also.
Best fringe benefit of this series? Patrick Stewart with hair!:D

Steve Schaffer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Schaffer
The technical quality is probably as good as it can be considering the source. I'm under the impression that this was a videotaped program originally, not filmed, and 70s videotape quality wasn't as good as today's.