What's new

HTPC problems/solutions (1 Viewer)

NJRadioGuy

Auditioning
Real Name
Peter Dougherty
Hello all, In the last month I built an ITX-based HTPC using Windows7/64 that has given me nothing but extreme frustration and I'm hoping someone more experienced that I am may be able to assist. The goal is a wife/family friendly player for ISOs of my DVD library as well as the occasional downloaded TV show that can be controlled solely from my Logitech Harmony 659 universal remote (i.e. no traditional Windows interface, no keyboard and no mouse for normal operation). I had been using a Linux-based "Popcorn Hour A-110" for about 2 years but it was never-ending trouble as well and since I'm not a Linux guru, I found it to be too much for me. The system build and upgrades went mostly-smooth and at first Windows Media Center played everything except ISO files smoothly for the most part. Of late, however, I cannot get it to play any type of video file, including MKVs, AVIs or anything else. Today when I went into the HT and launched the system, Windows Media Center didn't even make the usual startup sounds that it always did. There is *something* bad in there but honestly I don't know where to look. I've tried Googling and most of the results found are either not applicable to my situation or else they were tried unsuccessfully. This is all new territory for me, thus I am extremely inexperienced with all the technologies, codecs and whatnot. I installed the K-lite and Shark-007 codec packs, including those for 64-bit and it worked for less than a day. I would be forever indebted to anybody who could lend a hand in getting this set up for me. Conversely, is there different software or even hardware I could use that's dirt-simple, can play ISO, MKVs, AVIs and H.264 (or whatever other common standards are out there) and can be controlled with my IR remote and not a keyboard/mouse? Any assistance would be warmly welcomed, all I ask is that you please help me understand it in t