What's new

How good is the amplifier section of the Yamaha DSP-A1? (1 Viewer)

George_W_K

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
George
Just curious if anyone has experience with this older unit. One of the B&M stores nearby has one used for $430. I was thinking of buying it to use as an amp for now. I plan to upgrade to an actual amp later on, but I need something in the meantime. This will power my Def Tech C/L/R 3000 and 2 Axiom QS8's, plus a JBL S-Center in the rear. I'm currently using a Yahama RV-1105 which is rated @ 70 W per channel. But, it has a whine in two of its channels. If I bump it a couple times, the whine goes away. I've taken it apart, but don't see any loose connections.

Anyway, I'm tired of the whine and thought that this DSP-A1 would be a nice interim solution until I buy a normal amp. I'm hoping that the 110 W will be a nice improvement as well. However, since I have no experience with it, I'd like everyone's opinion on the quality of this unit.

Thanks,
George

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
It's a nice little unit; don't say the price too often; I got mine new not long after it came out.

I recall some people had troubles with them; I've not had a moment of trouble with mine.

Leo

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
My A1 is powering my DefTech 2000tl's and it is a great combination. This unit WAS the flagship of the Yamaha line about 10 years ago. It's well respected for it's amp section.

George_W_K

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
George
Thanks for the replies. I went and purchased the unit today but haven't hooked it up yet. Nice to hear that it's running your 2000 TL's. I'm hoping I'll get a little more out of my C/L/R 3000 now. At least until I upgrade to a separate amp.

Leo, what I meant to say was $2000. :)

Seth=L

Screenwriter
Real Name
Seth L
Good to see you'll be ready to host that meet with another amp.

Seth=L

George_W_K

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
George