What's new

How Do You Listen To Music? (1 Viewer)

Evan S

Senior HTF Member
OK, I decided to try to start a unique thread and see where this goes. How do you listen to music? Not what types of music or what gear you listen to it on, but exactly HOW do you listen? For instance, do you try to pick out the bass line or the kick drum? Do you focus on one particular instrument? Do you listen in 2 channel or multichannel? How do you prefer your music to sound? Do you like the high's prominent or more laid back? Do you put more emphasis on the midrange, treble or bass?
In my example, I do 99% of my music listening on my bedroom 2 channel system. I use NO subwoofer, even though I have bookshelves in there. Most of the time while I'm listening I'm hacking away on the internet (like now!). When I listen, I try to listen for the drum parts as I'm an aspiring drummer. If I'm not typing away, I'm usually playing the air drums on my imaginary Pearls. Oh yeah, I almost NEVER listen what you would call "critically". I usually just imerse myself in the song and float away.
This may be a stupid thread, or it may be a hit, but just call me curious.;)

StevenW

Second Unit
I either causually listen like when Im on the net or maybe playing some PS2, or I can criticly listen to my music, like laying back in my chair turning off all the lights and just let my music take me away...(ie listening to TOOL)

DanaA

Screenwriter