How do I calculate the number of amps my laser printer uses?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Daniel Swartz, May 3, 2002.

  1. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My laser printer has 2 sets of specs:

    Low voltage:

    100-127 Volts, 50/60Hz

    Power Consumption: 330 watts operating, 85 watts standby, and 25 watts idle.

    High voltage:

    220-240 Volts, 50/60Hz

    Power Consumption: 340 watts operating, 85 watts standby, and 25 watts idle.

    Can someone please tell me how to translate this data into amps? Thanks!
     
  2. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe I can answer my own question....

    Does Amps = Watts / Volts?

    So, given the specs above, the number of amps my laser printer uses will vary in between 3.3 (330/100) and 1.5 (340/220), right?
     
  3. Artur Meinild

    Artur Meinild Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct. However, I'll assume that you have either 220 or 110 volt installation, so depending on which one, it will be either 0.8-3.0 A (110V) or 0.4-1.5 A (220V)
     
  4. Joseph DeMartino

    Joseph DeMartino Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    8,311
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Real Name:
    Joseph DeMartino
    Just out of curiosity, why do you need to know? I've had a laser printer for almost 10 years and have never found myself wondering about how many amps it consumes. [​IMG]
    Regards,
    Joe
     
  5. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Artur: Thanks!

    Joe: It's actually X10 related. I recently added a workgroup laser printer to my office and now, because of the amount of power that the printer drains, my office X10 controls are all screwed up. So I need to buy a plug filter for the printer in order to screen out its noise. I was trying to see if I can get away with the cheap 5 amp filters or if I had to spend $75 on a 15 amp one. =)
     
  6. Ryan Wright

    Ryan Wright Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, the joys of calculating amps for X-10 filters.

    I hate X-10. As soon as I can afford it I'm dumping my significant investment ($Thousands) worth of X-10 equipment and switching to real home automation hardware. After trying to actually USE X-10, I've discovered that it's just kiddie stuff...

    It's too bad, because X-10 is nice and cheap.
     
  7. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ryan: Do you have any recommendations on where to get the filters on the cheap? Thanks!

    It really isn't that bad for the price. I've automated 5 rooms (lights w/ motion detectors) for well under $200. I'm considering buying one of those drape controls as a last expense.

    Then, I'm with you. I'll wait until I can afford the real stuff.
     
  8. Craig Robertson

    Craig Robertson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 1999
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ryan,

    any thoughts on "real home automation hardware"? i need some lighting control for a dedicated theater, the walls are not finished, so it'll be like doing new construction.
     

Share This Page