What's new

How did I get high cholesterol? (1 Viewer)

ChrisHeflen

Supporting Actor
I just got my results back from the doc last nite and my chol. is 303 and the other # is like 260 something?

Should I worry about those numbers?

Does this mean I don't have much time left?

Malcolm R

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
Not an expert here, but those numbers sound high to me.

I wouldn't panic (i.e. worrying about "time left"). Just consult with your doctor.

Jay H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jay
303 sounds high to me... I think anything over 200 is cause for concern... But I'm not a doctor and my numbers are probably too generic for the masses. The last time I had my cholesterol checked, I think I was about 156.

Jay

LDfan

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Jeffrey
Yeah there is concern for those numbers but you don't need to start looking for funeral lots.
Talk to your doc. Better diet and more exercise will help. For some people though it's more genetic no matter what they do to try and keep the numbers under control. In that case there are lots of medications out there that can lower the numbers for you.

Jeff

Chuck Mullen

Stunt Coordinator
Chris,
I am a former 300+ man myself! I was prescribed Lipitor. That with exercise, diet, and garlic tablets got me under 200 in just a few months.

As Jeff pointed out, genetics plays a huge role in this. Find out from your parents (if that's an option) about your families history.

Don't panic! There is a lot of info in books and on the internet on cholesterol. A little general knowledge about it will make you feel better.

Good Luck!

ChrisHeflen

Supporting Actor
Darn, you guys are giving me hope.
I all but had my wife convinced to let me upgrade just one last time.
I'm not really that worried cause if it happens it happens.

I guess I just don't get why.

I am 34, 5'9", 150lbs, play two-man volleyball competitively three times a week, walk my dog the other days, don't eat bread, breakfast, never smoke or drink.