What's new

Help with ways to improve my black levels. Pics included (1 Viewer)

Elfmaze

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Dan
We use an older NEC- LT150 to project to a 77" 4:3 screen. I just got a bluray player. Mostly for the internet apps(I understand the resolution limitations of the projector.
We were watching "Alien" last night. and I can't say i was happy with the image.
Viewing distance 10ft.
screen size 77" 4:3 blackout cloth screen
projection distance ~7ft
90% light controlled room
The setup works good on bright colors like animated films. But these "intense" dark shot movies look washed out, no POP.
I'm still new at this, Haven't even figured out "projector calibration" yet.
But any recommendations on how to better set up the room?
any easy screen modifications that might help?
I can't do too much as i'm renting the house, and the screen will someday be replaced with a 2:35 screen when the bulbs(i got 2) finally kick.
Screen shots.
Screen
DSC00813.jpg

Projector mount, spyder lamp was OFF for the test shots.
DSC00814.jpg

room with picture
DSC00819.jpg

Faceshot
DSC00819-1.jpg

Nostromo
DSC00821-1.jpg

Bright room
DSC00825-1.jpg

Hallway dynamic range
DSC00826-1.jpg

The room was darker than it appeared in the cameras lens. But it does highlight the problem areas a bit more.

GeorgeAB

Supporting Actor
Real Name
G. Alan Brown
It's tough to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Your projector was not designed for home theater. It's a business class projector, built for portability, light weight, use in poor viewing environments to view Power Point presentations. Black level and contrast were not priorities. Most likely, the color wheel includes a white section, along with the red/green/blue filters. Having the white segment in the color wheel enabled extra light output, in order to compete with ambient room light (usually required for note taking or following along in a syllabus).