1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

HELP with new HTB 504 setup

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brian Sokol, Feb 9, 2002.

  1. Brian Sokol

    Brian Sokol Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have everything setup on my new(and 1st) system and I am not getting anything out of my center speaker. I can hear a hiss so it is getting power. I used both my 14 gauge speaker wire as well as the wire that shipped with the unit. Do I need to do anything special to get it to work? I am only listening to thye TV right now (Olympics!) but I should still here the center speaker right??

    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

    thanks
     
  2. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You will only get sound out of the center speaker if you are playing a Dolby ProLogic or Dolby Digital source, or if you turn on one of the DSP modes (Jazz/Hall/etc.)

    Yes, the Olympics claim to be using "Dolby Surround", but you must be sure to have the audio feed coming into the receiver be stereo.

    Do you have L/R cables for the "TV" input?
     
  3. Brian Sokol

    Brian Sokol Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I tried setting the reciever to one of the DSP modes and it did not help. Yes I have left and right audio going out from my TV and into the kenwood.

    Any othe ideas?
     
  4. Vin

    Vin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you set the center channel to ON in the receiver's speaker set-up procedure?
     
  5. Brian Sokol

    Brian Sokol Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. It is working if I play a DVD.
     
  6. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If a DVD works with the center, everything is hooked up ok. My guess is that your TV is not passing along ProLogic encoding to your receiver.
     
  7. Jesse Leonard

    Jesse Leonard Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does sound as if you TV isn't passing the pro-logic out on the RCA jacks (which TV do you have by the way?). Try using the tuner in your VCR to tune the channel and use the RCA jacks out of the VCR into your receiver and see if you get center channel information.

    If this doesn't work, then maybe your cable station is only passing stereo.
     
  8. Brian Sokol

    Brian Sokol Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am suddenly getting sound out of the center speaker while my son is watching the spanish soccer channel. I have a Proscan 32" TV. The reciever says it is on Pro Logic. I do not think I changed anything but I must have??
     
  9. Bill Catherall

    Bill Catherall Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 1997
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then the problem is with the Olympic broadcast, not your hardware.
     
  10. Brian Sokol

    Brian Sokol Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the advice. It still may have been user error on my part. This is my first system. One last question. It seems the volume is much lower when I listen to the TV than when I listen to a DVD. Is this normal? I can turn the volume up and it is more than loud enough but if I suddenly switch to DVD it will blow the windows out. Shouldn't they all play about the same loudness?
     
  11. steve nn

    steve nn Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DVD will be optimum if digital.
     
  12. Bill Will

    Bill Will Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What type of audio outputs are you using from the tv, Fixed or Variable? Variable audio outputs let you use the tv's remote to control the volume going to the receiver. If this is what you are using turn the volume up on the tv set or switch the audio outputs to FIXED but with fixed audio outputs you can only use the receiver to control the volume level. To change the tv's audio outputs to fixed or variable you will have to go into the Proscan tv's menu system.
     

Share This Page