What's new

Help with 1st Time HT/Music Setup (1 Viewer)

1) I have earmarked 7K for my 1st HT/Music setup as follows:

1)Toshiba 65” HDTV…………….$3,000.00
2)SVS CS 25-31 Sub x 2…………$1,000.00
3)Receiver………………………...$1,000.00
4)Main Speakers/Surround…...…...$1,000.00
5)DVD Player….…………………….$500.00
6)Cables,SPL meter etc……...………$500.00

Have I missed anything?

Quite simply, what I’m after is the best bang for my buck. My living room is 26’ x 16’and my HT/Music usage will be about 40/60 and living in the Caribbean my music will be predominantly calypso and reggae – hey, my wife is Trini and I studied in Jamaica!

Here’s where I need some help:

1)Will the 2 SVS’ cover my living area for bass?
2)A Brandsmart salesperson suggested the Denon 2802 receiver, however I tend to think that the Denon 3802 offers better bang for the buck. What other receivers might I consider & why?
3)While the sub was easy, I haven’t the faintest idea as to what main speakers/satellites to consider.
4)Same goes for the DVD player. Also is $500.00 too high, and do I need a separate CD player? If yes, which might I consider?
5)How much cable and connectors might I require?
6)What about a “smart” Remote Control to manage the whole system?

My prices are all ball park and while I’ll be very happy to spend less, I am not averse to spending a little more. I will be shipping all of this gear to the Caribbean and therefore need to get it right the 1st time.

Miami is my shopping ground. Where can I audition speakers etc in the greater Miami area?

What internet sites might I consider for purchases? I have a Miami address so shipping within the US is not a problem.

Many Thanx to all in anticipation of your kind assistance

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
That's a heavy list - All I know for sure is that you should budget $300 - $1000 for an amp for the SVS's, or consider getting one 25-31 PC+ instead.

Me? I'd get 2 non-powered and a hefty amp...

Eric Elvira

Auditioning
Hi Kirk,