What's new

Help please with equipment selections (1 Viewer)

Joe Pad

Auditioning
I'm just getting into HT and have learned quite a bit from here already but need some help. I plan on using the equipment 50/50 HT and music. I have about $700-800 to spend right now. This is what I have planned on getting.

Receiver- Onkyo 494 or maybe the 595 depends on money.

DVD- I really want a 5 disc changer so I can play cd's also so I was thinking of the Panasonic CV51 or the Toshiba SD2715. I don't have a need for progressive scan right now.

Speakers- I have 2 thoughts here both include getting a sub at a later date. 1 option I was thinking was getting the JBL NSP1 set. 2nd option is getting a pair Paradigm Atoms now and save up for something like Monitor 5's or 7's and a CC370 and move the Atoms to the rear.

What do you guys think is the best way to go with the speakers and my choices of receivers and dvd players. I'm open to other options. Thanks

Brian Johnson

Supporting Actor
Well, I would steer clear of the 494- lacks features that a budget receiver should have. I personnaly bought the denon avr1602 & am pleased with it. This too was my introduction into HT. If I didnt buy the denon I would of bought the kenwood vr507 - which has the same features of the denon. The kenwood could be had for around 250 the denon around 350. Just my 2cents -Brian

Joe Pad

Auditioning
Thanks for your reply Brian. How does the Denon compare to the 595 since they are closer in the $350 price range??

Mark Gurney

Stunt Coordinator