What's new

Help! New HD on Win98 boots and runs VERY slowly (1 Viewer)

DavidBL

Stunt Coordinator
Hello fellow HTF'ers-- I'm hoping a few of you PC experts can lend a little advice on a new hard drive install I did last night. I'm not a PC novice by any means but this is the first time I've ever had to replace a HD and reinstall an OS.

My system is 3 years old, HP Pavilion 8575C, PIII 550 MHz, 384 MB RAM. Last week my old 20GB Quantum Fireball began to make serious clunks and thumps and give the blue screen "read error on drive C:" message. So I ordered a new 40GB Maxtor HD and did the install last night. I used the Maxtor software to format the drive and then the Recovery CD's that came with the computer to reinstall Win98SE and all of the other garbage that came on the computer.

My problem is that the system now boots up VERY slowly, it seems like the drive is only running about half as fast as the old one did, the mouse is jerky and less responsive while loading stuff during the boot and also when executing a program like IE. I don't know what settings changed between my old configuration and the new "factory default" setup, but something is definately wrong as it was not this slow with the old drive.

Here is what I have checked and done so far:
-- made sure DMA was enabled (it is)
-- Changed virtual memory to a permanent 750 MB space
-- uninstalled all of the "sign up now for AOL" trash software that came with the PC
-- downloaded and reinstalled all of the critical Win98 update patches from the last 3 years
-- reinstalled the latest drivers for all of my additional hardware that didn't come with the PC (printer, scanner, TV/video capture card)
-- Ran "MSCONFIG" and unchecked a whole bunch of the useless stuff that tries to go in the startup tray

I was really thinking on that last one that relieving the startup load would decrease the boot time, but everything is still just plain SLOW and I'm out of ideas.