What's new

Help me pick a sub please (1 Viewer)

Ted Ross

Second Unit
Im a newbie here so please bear with me. I have $350 credit at a local store & I need to get a subwoofer for my small room(12X12X8) for my HT setup. The ones I narrowed down to are the Polk PSW350, Infinty Entra, Cerwin Vega LW-12,Klipsch KSW10, or the Velodyne CHT8. Any of your comments on any of these subs is most welcome. Yes, I know for the money there are better subs out there, but this is what I am stuck with for now.

Thanks

Vin

Supporting Actor
Realizing that you want to use the $350 credit, I would, at the very least, add $50 to that and get the Velodyne CHT-10. The improvement over the CHT-8 will be well worth the added cost and will outperform any of the other subs that you're considering, IMO. (The next step up the Velodyne ladder would be the CHT-12 which goes for around $100 more than the CHT-10).

Hope this helps.

Ryan Schnacke

Supporting Actor
The Cerwin Vegas seem boomy to me and I think I remember complaints about poor integration with main speakers. I'd stay away from the CVs.

Ted Ross

Second Unit
Yeah, i heard the CVs were boomy. I will consider the CHT-10 for $50.00 extra. I cant seem to find any info or reviews on the Entra sub.

Steve Alan

Agent
I agree with Vin here; pop in an extra 50-75 dollars to get the cht-10. Don't bother finding info/reviews on the Entra sub. Not only is this "subwoofer" not worth the asking price, it's not even worth your time listening to it. As for the CVs, they can play loud but not all that deep like the Velodynes can. The polks aren't bad at all for the $$$ but don't have the ablity to play as deep as the Velodyne. The choice is pretty obvious!!:D

ToddJoseph

Stunt Coordinator