1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

HD on a Toshiba 51H83

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Mike Boniferro, Oct 5, 2003.

  1. Mike Boniferro

    Mike Boniferro Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 1999
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a quick question.
    I finally got to enjoy some HD programming on my new Toshiba 51H83 tonight, and a few 'problems' stood out.
    My source is a Scientific Atlanta HD decoder with Rogers cable. I watched Law and Order SVU and The Practice tonight, and every 10 mins or so the screen would flash black (audio stayed on) and during the practice I got 'digital like' small squares that popped up on the screen quite regularly.
    Everything else looked spectacular, does anyone know what this could be?
    since I just got the box, I am still using the cheap component cables that came with it, but I do plan to upgrade those as soon as I have a chance this week... is there any chance that is the problem?
    thanks!
    mike
     
  2. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    5,610
    The digital breakup is most likely a problem on the broadcast end. If the signal is weak, it will breakup and freeze or pixelate. Call your provider and let them know, they may be able to adjust something.
     
  3. videobruce

    videobruce Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried OTA reception if you have the capability?

    How far from the HE (head end) are you?

    How noisy is your analog cable pix?

    Ask for another cable box. Have them check for signal strength AND C/N ratio (can't be done with a signal level meter).
     
  4. Mike Boniferro

    Mike Boniferro Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 1999
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No OTA reception here yet... [​IMG]

    I'm not sure how far away I am from the HE, but analog cable pix are pretty good (very little noise).

    I'll call them today and get them to check it out.

    thx a ton!
    Mike
     
  5. Luke_Lemmings

    Luke_Lemmings Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same problems sometimes with Rogers.

    It's just signal strength.

    It doesn't happen too often for me so I don't worry about it. If you're experiancing it every 10 min I would get it checked out.
     
  6. Rajeev_s

    Rajeev_s Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. videobruce

    videobruce Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Carrier to noise ratio.

    You can have ample signal say 5-10dbi, but if the C/N ratio is poor the pic still will be noisy. It happens the further out you go from the H/E. The more amps the more noise. I'm 10 or 11 trunk amps out. The system I'm on use to go out to between 45 and 50 amps. Way to many. Don't know about now.
     
  8. Mike Boniferro

    Mike Boniferro Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 1999
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can they do these tests from their end, or do they have to come out? I called them today and they said communication and signal strength seemed fine....
    tonight I had hardly any digital pixilization, but I did get the short black screen flash every 15 or 20 mins.... mostly during commercials, but about twice during Law and Order...
     
  9. videobruce

    videobruce Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From the pole. You don't have to be there.
    I would insist of that if you still are having problems.

    Nag them.... Tell them you want the C/N ratio checked and you want to know what it is on the lowest channel and the highest! Tell them you know you can have a high signal, but that doesn't mean the C/N ratio is good or not.

    That will piss them off and impress the engineering types since they assume the subscriber doesn't know jack about RF signals!
     

Share This Page