Having a brain fart, please answer my simple question?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by LowellG, Feb 10, 2002.

  1. LowellG

    LowellG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My question concerns the A/B speakers on your receiver. When you are on A, you are using all 5 surround speakers and the sub. My question is on B, does it just use the other two stereo mains and no sub, or does the sub work with the B speakers as well? Thanks
     
  2. PaulKH

    PaulKH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On mine only the front left/right switch out with the A/B mode. The same sub, center, rears stay engaged.
     
  3. Bruce Hedtke

    Bruce Hedtke Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here. There is an A main channel and a B main channel. It only affects those main speakers.

    Bruce
     
  4. BrentPollard

    BrentPollard Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I think Paul is correct the A/B switch will change between two pairs of front L&R it should not affect the rears sub or center.
     
  5. LowellG

    LowellG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So from what I am reading, that means the sub works, (as well as center/surrounds), with either A or B? Yes/No

    Sorry, it's past my bed time, hard to think.

    Thanks
     
  6. Bruce Hedtke

    Bruce Hedtke Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, Lowell...the subs and surrounds should still work regardless of the A/B switch.

    Bruce
     
  7. Keith Mickunas

    Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 1998
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most likely A and B connect to the same amplifiers. Check your manual and/or the back panel. If it makes note of taking care about impedance when using A and B together, then you know its just two connections to the same place. Therefor processing will not be different in any way regardless of whether you use A, B or both together.
     

Share This Page