What's new

Halo? Can the Master Chief move faster? (1 Viewer)

Steve Winkler

Stunt Coordinator
Sorry if this has been posted about a thousand times, I used the search function but couldn't find what I was looking for. Is there a way to make the main character in Halo move quicker? I'm a newbie to both the X-box and Halo and I keep getting my slow ass kicked all over space. Strafe-ing helps but it too seems slow. Am I missing an easy controller setting or something. Maybe I'm not such a good gamer anymore, I'm still used to Doom/DoomII on the PS1. :)
Thanks for any comments and/or hints.
Steve

Dave Bennett

Screenwriter
I think the reason the Master Chief seems to move so slowly i that many of the enviornments are enormous. It may seem like you moving slowly simply because the areas are so huge(that when the vehicles come in handy). Second, Halo tries to move at a realistic pace. In reality no one (cyborg or not) could run that fast all the time. Realism is also the reason why you can only carry 1 pistol, 1 rifle, and so many grenades(can't remember off the top of my head). At any rate, there's really no way to speed it up, but in later levels when you're inside alot more, it probably won't seem as slow.

Steve Winkler

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks Dave. I think I'm just getting older and the games are getting so much more involved. I'll keep pluggin' away. Cheers.

Dave Bennett

Screenwriter
Steve, definitely keep going with Halo. It's an amazing game and is well worth the minor annoyances it may pose(steering the warthog isn't pretty but it doesn't really harm the game either).

Trevor_J

Second Unit
You cannot make the Chief move any quicker.

Since your background is Doom I/II I think I know why you're getting killed so much.