What's new

Entry Level Speaker Info and/or FAQs (1 Viewer)

Lynn C

Auditioning
I am looking for a set of speakers for my home theater. I am very new to this field and am looking for some basic information on what to look for in a entry level set of speakers. Thanks for any info you can provide on where to look for speaker info or any suggestions of a good well-priced set of speakers.

Robert_Gaither

Screenwriter
Several things to consider Lynn, try to break it down to these categories:

1) Room Size: Larger rooms require speakers with greater output to give fullness to sound. Try giving us a height x width x length of the room so we can help you much better.

2) Listening tastes: do you listen to your movies at reference levels (what this is that at the primary listening position when the speakers are calibrated that each of the speakers will have an output out to 105 db clean and the sub at a 115 db) or do you prefer a slightly quiter experience.

3) Price Range: give us a budget, other wise we may suggest speakers you can't afford and it wastes both your time and ours to make such suggestions for research. Also state what other gear that either you already own or will need (do you have an AVR, DVD player, TV,Sub, etc thus we will all try to keep you in your budget).

4) Gear: What I mean by this is what will these be matched up to as some AVRs only have fixed X-over points and this might also limit your selection on appropriate gear.

5) Esthetics: Are you restricted to smaller speakers (usually a SOF) or those of certain type of wood grain or color (to match your interior).

6) House or Apartment: If you own your house I'd recommend a Diy IB sub otherwise I'm going to try to recommend what I consider the best sub in your budget.