Does your city have high-def cable yet?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Yohan Pamudji, May 9, 2001.

  1. Yohan Pamudji

    Yohan Pamudji Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If so, please list your city, cable company, and when you were first aware of their high-def cable service. I called Time Warner Cable in Jackson, MS and they have no ETA on high-def cable here. Seeing some cities and commencement dates of high-def cable service in other cities would give me a better idea of what to expect (not really holding my breath though. We just got cable modem last year).
     
  2. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your TWC has Digital Cable (and it should if you have cable modems), Warner tentatively plans to have HD up by the end of 2001.
     
  3. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Orlando does along with about a least a dozen other Time Warner markets so far..As Michael said, all TWC markets currently with digital cable will have HD by years end...
    ------------------
     
  4. Yohan Pamudji

    Yohan Pamudji Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's encouraging. So word on the street is that TWC will have HD in all of their markets by the end of the year? If so that's awesome!
    Do y'all know what their HD channel lineup will be? Will they carry local networks in HD? Or HBO and Showtime? What's not so encouraging is that most of the local stations in town have end of 2002 as their ETA for high-def broadcasting [​IMG]
     
  5. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you currently have digital cable, they will have HD by end of year..They carry showtime HD and HBO hd...They will carry your local HD channels when available..They do not carry for example CBS's Network HD feed..That has to come thru your local affiliates...
    ------------------
     
  6. Matt Taylor

    Matt Taylor Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We have TWC HD here in Kansas City. I have one of 45 Scientific Atlanta 2000HD boxes in the metro area. We have PBS HD, HBO HD, and 2 Showtime HD channels. No word as of right now when the networks will come on line.
    Matt
     
  7. Craig Robertson

    Craig Robertson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 1999
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matt,
    the networks probably will not "come online" for several years. it has been ruled that the "Must Carry" rules don't apply to a new format, just to the content. the cable companies only have to carry one format (analog) or the other (digital). with most of their customers using analog sets, the cable providers are choosing to carry the analog signal. OTA will be the only way to go for a while.
     
  8. Levi Akers

    Levi Akers Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mike I,
    I am a bit confused about your post [​IMG]. You say that they Local HD channels but they don't carry the HD Network feeds (CBS). If my local CBS affiliate is showing a CBS HD program I won't get it in HD? I guess could you please explain a little more what you mean by "local HD channels" and "HD Network feeds"?
    Thanks
    Levi
     
  9. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your local CBS affialiate is broadcasting the digital HD feed from CBS, TWC will carry it, but if your local affiliate's digital channel is not up, TWC does not carry the HD network feed direct from CBS...The feed has to come thru the local affiliate...
    ------------------
     
  10. Petteri

    Petteri Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been told be Time Warner Cable here in San Diego, that they will begin testing this year and perhaps NEXT year roll out their HD service. Anyone else have more info?
    Petter Leone
    San Diego, CA USA
     
  11. John Tillman

    John Tillman Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 1999
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mike:
    What STB's do people use for TW/HD ? On LI, Cablevision's HD feed is coming through, but the word is a sony stb (w/firewire-5c) will be needed by years end.
     
  12. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John.... TWC supplies the Scientific Atlanta SD2000HD with component or RGB out....
    ------------------
     
  13. BradZ

    BradZ Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any word on AT&T broadband cable offering HDTV service?
    ------------------
    zaphod
    end of transmission...
     
  14. Eric Shasteen

    Eric Shasteen Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got hooked up with Time Warner digital cable about a month ago, I was surprised to find out that 2 HBO's and 2 SHOWTIME's are offered in HD. I live in Salem, OH - a small town of about 12,000, so I was extremely surprised/delighted to find out it was available. I am currently in the market for a digital TV, so I haven't got to enjoy it yet.
     
  15. MickeS

    MickeS Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,058
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No HD here, OTA or cable... [​IMG]
    /Mike
     
  16. Levi Akers

    Levi Akers Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it Mike... So everyone down the chain has to be providing the HD signal from Network -> Local Affiliate -> Cable Provider -> My TV [​IMG]
    Thanks for clarifying...
    I can't wait till TWC in Tampa starts broadcasting in HD... [​IMG]
     
  17. Yohan Pamudji

    Yohan Pamudji Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tampa doesn't have it, but Salem, OH does?!?! Time Warner... you bunch of screwups. Maybe I need to pull an Andy Dufrane and mail-bomb them until they submit to my HD cravings.
     
  18. Harold A

    Harold A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We have HD TWC service here however the waiting list on boxes is a few months so it is pointless.
     
  19. Bob_Wilson

    Bob_Wilson Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matt
     
  20. Scott Wong

    Scott Wong Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1999
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on AT&T Broadband cable... I'm still using analog cable simply because their digital packages are costly and their programming structure sucks, IMO.
    If they began offering an HD feed anytime soon, that might change everything.
    Scott.
    ------------------
    Scott's DVD List
     

Share This Page