Do you loose resolution when you run your component wired thru your receiver?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jim Carr, Dec 29, 2001.

  1. Jim Carr

    Jim Carr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I get my HDTV and my progressive scan DVD, should I run the components (like everything else, s-vid, dig cables) thru the receiver IN and then OUT to the TV or should I connect the sources directly to the TV?
    Will I loose resoultion or are there any disadvantages to running your components THRU your receiver?
    thanks!
    For the record I have will have either a Onkyo 797/898 or a Denon 3802/4802 (still researching [​IMG] )
    thanks again,
    Jim
     
  2. Anthony Stephan

    Anthony Stephan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have "Broadcast Quality" video switching in your reciever, the difference would be negligible.

    But I would run it direct to the TV anyway.
     
  3. Brian Schucher

    Brian Schucher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2000
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would say to always go straight to the display when possible. Having a remote that does macros makes this an easy process.
     
  4. Jim Carr

    Jim Carr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    As always.. thanks guys
     

Share This Page