Denon 3803 no sound from DVD, HELP

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Vay, Jan 24, 2004.

  1. Vay

    Vay Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just hooked up my Denon 3803. I'm running composite video straight from the DVD player to the TV. I have an optical cable from the DVD player to the 3803 digital input #5. When I play a CD in the DVD player, sound comes out just fine. When I put a DVD in there, I get no sound, but of course the picture is displayed just fine. Any help anyone?

    Does anybody have a good link to a good Denon 3803 help site or thread? That manual is terrible.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Peter_D

    Peter_D Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is your sourond sound set to manual instead of auto. i notice that if it is not set to auto it wont switch to DD or dts that is what could be happening to you.

    On the front of the reviver there are some buttons there is a lable over them that says input. whn playing a dvd click on the mode button untill is says auto. this should let it auto switch from 5ch stereo to dts or dd
     
  3. Todd Thurman

    Todd Thurman Extra

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar problem somebody helped me out with today.

    Go into the setup screen and look in "Digital In Assignment" and verify that the input showing is the one you are using.

    I agree....I don't like the manual and a help site for setup of this unit would be great.

    I am still learning and could easily be wrong here but it's worth a look!
     
  4. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take a look at the DVD player manual and make sure you audio output is set to bitstream and not PCM.

    Kevin
     
  5. Vay

    Vay Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everybody, thanks so much for your help. The problem was that I did not have it set to auto.

    By the way, when is the PCM setting used?
     
  6. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    PCM - Pulse Code Modulation. This is the method used by CDs as the signal carrier.
     
  7. charlie o

    charlie o Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hooked my 3803 up last night and was having the same problem. It took a while but i finally figued it out. It was on analog. The manuel sucks.
     

Share This Page