What's new

cooking with crockpot? (1 Viewer)

Christ Reynolds

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CJ
hey foodies, i need a little help. parents are coming over on friday for the first dinner in our new house. i plan to make a roast for the 4 of us (trader joe's australian filet mignon), and i hear the best way to cook it is in a crockpot, which we have. but, i've never used it before. is there a formula to cook the roast, based on its weight? thanks for any info.

CJ

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
I wouldn't cook that cut in a crock pot. Filets and other tender cuts are for frying, grilling and broiling only. They get their tenderness from their lack of use on the cow and their fat content, which is great for fast cooking methods. However, they have little or no connective tissue and thus will dry to show leather from long, slow cooking methods. For a braised, slow cook (pot roast to us New Englanders) choose a tougher cut with more connective tissue. A rump, chuck or bottom round cut is best. Salt and pepper and then brown the roast in a pan to get some caramelization. Put about 3/4 cup of water in the browning pan to deglaze the "frond" (brown bits on the bottom of the pan). Put roast on top of vegetables (potatos, onions, carrots), pour in the deglazing water. Cook around 8-10 hours (depending on size) on low. It'll melt in your mouth.

If you want to cook the fillets you have, wrap em in bacon for a treat, and broil or grill. Cook them NO MORE THAN MEDIUM!! If someone wants a well done filet, serve them a hockey puck.

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member