Component cable switch box?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Luke_H, Jul 9, 2001.

  1. Luke_H

    Luke_H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Tosh 56x81 which only has two component imputs. Right now I run my progressive scan DVD to input 1 and my Dish 6000 HD receiver to input 2.
    I'm very close to purchasing a playstation 2 and I'd like to use the component cables available for it, is there a switch box out there that can handle component devices?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Chad Isaacs

    Chad Isaacs Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is just an idea but...
    I am getting close to getting an lcd fp.As far as I know they usually only have one comp. input.To save a few dollars I am thinking of using some less expensive rg6 with rf-rca adaptors to send the signal.When I get more money I can always upgrade.
    Anyway,my idea was to get one of the rf splitters(the kind with 2 in one out) for each line.You would just have to be sure one was turned off before turning one the other.
    Would this work...Why not?
    ------------------
     
  3. Luke_H

    Luke_H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose that would work, however everytime you want to add a device you have to keep getting Y adapters. Lets say I not only wanted to add the PS2, but also the new Nintendo which outputs 480p.
    I'd rather run all the cables to a central switch box and then run one main set to the TV.
    Thinking about it more, I know they make composite video/Audio switch boxes, I wonder if I could use the
    yellow(video)/white/red(audio) composite connectors to attach my red/blue/green(video) component cables?
    Would this work?
     
  4. Chad Isaacs

    Chad Isaacs Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have thought about that also.The thing I wonder if the wire inside the box would match the component cables.I guess the "video" in and out should but i'm not so sure about the audio.So there is a risk you would have one properly matched and two that are not.
    As for the splitters,I have seen some that have 3-4 outputs.
    ------------------
     
  5. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    generally video has an impedeance around 70 ohms and audio has
     
  6. Kent Oberlin

    Kent Oberlin Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Luke_H

    Luke_H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    That Extron looks perfect except that it takes the BNC type connector and I have all RCA type connectors.
    I can't believe I'm the only one thats run into this problem.
    Thanks for the tip on not using a composite switch as the impedence is not matched.
    ------------------
     
  8. Sean M

    Sean M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2000
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Luke, I know exactly how you feel. I am faced with the possiblity of having four devices in my system that use Component video (DVD Player(i), PS2(i/p?), X-Box(p), Game Cube(p)). I have no switching facilities for Component whatsoever. JVC makes a few switches that will give you a couple of Component inputs, but it sounds like you'll need more than that. All of the solution I can come up with require three devies and/or a new receiver with Component switching.
    If I bought a new receiver that switches component, I can run the DVD player and PS2 through it to something like the Iscan pro to deinterlace (without the receiver, I need another switch). I can then run the progressive component signals from the X-box and GC to another switch/transcoder (my projector only take RGBHV unless I spend $500 on a card), and then finally to an RGBHV switch and then to the projector. Simple really. Of course, changing components will mess things up (prog. DVD comes to mind).
    Or, I could just buy a high end scaler with enough inputs and be done with it (don't have that kind of money though). Things get slightly less complicated if I keep my PC to do the scaling.
    ------------------
    "Experience is the one thing you can't get for nothing." - Oscar Wilde
     
  9. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    The composite A/V switchers work just great. I got a small Sony for $30.
    Glenn
     
  10. Ryan Pream

    Ryan Pream Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    This would have been a lot easier if the A/V industry had standardized on the same VGA connectors as computers. There are tons of VGA switch boxes out there.
    Ryan
    ------------------
     
  11. stephen abbot

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 1999
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    quote: Anyway,my idea was to get one of the rf splitters(the kind with 2 in one out) for each line.You would just have to be sure one was turned off before turning one the other [/quote]
    Chad, you cannot, must not perform what you have proposed above, in doing so you would seriously stuff your video signals such that they would look horrid. You must use a proper video switching device, passive or active as other have suggested. These RF splitters have poor performance at low video frequencies and even at there correct 30MHz to 800MHz (or 1.5GHz) operating region they have a minimum 3dB loss which is totally unacceptable for a video signal. Further more they only offer around 15dB isolation between the two isolated ports, so any echo resulting from the equipment being off or removed would be seriously visible. These are designed for RF applications not video disribution applications.
    Cheers
    Stephen
    [Edited last by stephen abbot on July 10, 2001 at 10:48 PM]
     
  12. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,172
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
  13. Jim Christian

    Jim Christian Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please don't put periods after links.
    Jim
     

Share This Page