Can *any* headset/mic be plugged into XBox communicator?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Carlo Medina, Nov 19, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,450
    Likes Received:
    651
    Okay, I've had the XBox communicator a while, and quite frankly it's uncomfortable as hell for my head and ears.

    I have at work access to PC headsets with a mic, and was wondering if anyone has had luck in using something like that with the XBox communicator base (remember, I'm still going to use the base, I just want to swap out the actual headset/mic combo).

    Thanks for any help you all can provide!
     
  2. Paul_Massey

    Paul_Massey Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I've seen of the headset, you should be able to put any headset on there as long as the plug size matches. The plugs on them are pretty much industry standard and should be pretty easy to find. If not your local electronics store will have an appropriate adaptor.
     
  3. Baldemar Garcia

    Baldemar Garcia Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 1999
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any 2.5mm headset will work, except those for Nokia phones, which swap mic/ear signals. However, you may need to file the new plug a little for a good fit, as the MS communicator has a special socket for a locking fit. Compare two plugs and you'll see what I mean.
     
  4. Romar Armas

    Romar Armas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can plug in any headset but you will most likely experience some issues with it. Headsets not designed for Live tend to generate a lot of echo. I bought a Jabra headset for this purpose but stopped using it after it was causing problems with echoing.
     
  5. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,450
    Likes Received:
    651
    I get a some echo on my standard headset, so I don't think it can get much worse. I think the echo has to do more with the connection than the actual headset.

    I've found out that most headsets designed to work with cordless phones will work w/ Live. How? I plugged my Live headset into my cordless phone and it worked perfectly... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page