What's new

Cal with Avia: S-video, component 480i, vs 480p differences for VHS? (I'm (1 Viewer)

Kevin C Brown

Senior HTF Member
I am still relatively new to all the permutations and combinations as far as video stuff goes.

Anyway, I accidentally calibrated my new HDTV-ready set with the 480i output from my player. Then I went back with 480p. The settings definitely were not the same.

And even on top of that, I got into the service menus, and some of the stuff changed there too. (Horiz overscan, and horiz position, for example.)

Is this normal?

So if I get different "best" settings for say the s-video input vs component 480i vs component 480p, how do I calibrate for "std" analog broadcast material?

I think I saw a thread not too long ago asking about an Avia equivalent for VHS. (I'm going to go search now...) But I'd be curious as to others' feedback too...

I have to keep asking this stupid question though too: I can leave the player in progressive mode all the time, right? And because the TV I have, has a 16:9 squeeze mode (Tosh 32HFX72), I can also set the player to 16:9 mode too. But what happens if I play 4:3 material on a DVD? Does it still fill the whole screen? Or because it squeezes the vertical size to get the proper aspect ratio for 16:9, then it will add vertical bars on the L & R for a 4:3 picture, so I will end up with a small 4:3 picture? (I obviously haven't tried it yet. Just got the component cables this week, and am mostly done with calibrating it.)

THANK YOU!

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
What you are encountering is not unusual.

What you need is a TV that has several "memories" so you can save one set of settings for 480i, another set of settings for 480p, etc.