Bose Acoutimass 10 adding a sixth cube fro DTS 6.1?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eduardo Ma, Mar 17, 2003.

  1. Eduardo Ma

    Eduardo Ma Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello

    Just upgraded to a DTS reciver Onkyo TX-SR700
    Is it possible to hook up a sixth cube that would be the rear center surround to have the advantage of DTS 6.1
    Where can it be hooked? can it be on the center speaker with an extra filter to by pass low signals?
    What else I can do?
    Please any advise really appreciated

    Ed
    :b
     
  2. ChristopherBer

    ChristopherBer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can get a cube and just connect directly to the reciever.
     
  3. Jeffrey Forner

    Jeffrey Forner Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Christopher,

    I don't think that would work. Not only does Bose not sell the Acoustimass cubes individually, you need to run the signal through the bass module. Otherwise, you'll blow the speaker. The reason for this is that there are some crossovers built into the bass module that redirects higher frequencies to the cubes and lower ones to the bass modules. If you send the full-range signal to the cube, it will blow.

    Eduardo, I'm afraid you cannot get 6.1 sound out of your current system unless you replace the speakers.
     
  4. Trace Ahlers

    Trace Ahlers Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Christopher,
    You can have 6.1, jsut not with a Bose cube.
    Simply buy a small speaker (bookshelf, surround, etc.)
    and connect it to the rear center speaker terminal.
    Trace
     
  5. Eduardo Ma

    Eduardo Ma Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello all
    Thanks for your help

    Regarding a 6th cube:
    I thinked by placing some kind of capacitor between the cube and the reciver, to prevent low frequencies burn the cube, I learned that in car audio and have installed mine that way, but just dont know wich type of capacitor to use, I done this a long time ago
    Does this might sound right? or Im crazy?

    About Trace recomendation: sounds fine, will try that, just wanted to have the 6 cubes would look better

    Ed [​IMG]
     
  6. TanT

    TanT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try to locate a local speakers building company and talk to them. They should be able to calculate which one you'll need.

    Good luck.
     
  7. RichardH

    RichardH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. MikeRP

    MikeRP Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eduardo:

    Its me again.. Thanks for you respnse in the receiver section!

    Anyway, you can easily do this as everyone has said above.

    You just have to redesignate the normal center channel on the Bose to the rear center channel on the 700 and remember what you did.

    This can get more complicated if you ever fo to a 7.1 system.

    I'm recommending it this way because you can get a lot better center channel than the Bose cube. And the Bose cube will work fine for the rear center.

    Mike
     
  9. Eduardo Ma

    Eduardo Ma Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello to all

    Thank you very much for those great recomendations!

    Richard: thanks for the link!
    Tant: Bose guys in here might help, will visit them!

    Mike: yours sound pretty good!
    At the moment 7.1 can wait, but switching the froncube to the rear center and placing a center channel sound good

    I will do some testing

    And will let you all know

    Ed [​IMG]
     

Share This Page