What's new

Blackhole 5 (1 Viewer)

PaulDF

Second Unit
I plan to order my A/V 3 kit in the next few days and have a few more questions I'd like everybody's opinions on... Rather then drudge up the longish thread I started a few weeks ago, I thought I'd start a new thread to keep things simple and quick.

I've decided to definitely get the sonicap upgrade, but am undecided about Blackhole 5. I have read all I can find on this site and others about BH5, and have seen mixed rewiews. Most of the posts I've found are at least 6 months old, so I thought there might be more opinions about it by now.

Since I live in Canada, the final cost, as far as I can figure, for the two required sheets of BH5 will be about $180.00 after shipping. That is a lot of money for something that my untrained ears might not even notice. A lot of people will say to use other products, which may be effective to some degree, but I doubt any will provide as much improvement as BH5. Since I am a beginner at most of this, I don't want to cut any corners or try to improvise. I don't want to have any doubt when all is built and done. I plan to keep these speakers for many years.

I do not doubt Danny or his opinion of the BH5, as he recommends I use it.

The improvement the A/V 3s will be over my current speakers is going to be tremendous. With such a huge upgrade, is it really necessary to take those few extra steps further? I seem to be talking myself into it as I type...

All opinions appreciated! Thanks.

Pete Mazz

Supporting Actor
You could substitute BH5 with felt. Make sure the felt has a high wool content and use 1/2" or more.

Pete

Hank Frankenberg

Senior HTF Member