What's new

Best $1k a pair speaker kits? (1 Viewer)

Greg Risley

Second Unit
I am thinking about trying the DIY speaker kit thing. My budget is a grand a pair, and this has to include the assembled cabinets since my woodworking skills are from an 8th grade shop class 20 years ago. I have looked at ACI, Madisound, and Zalytron. These look like good stuff but I have never dealt with any of these and haven't heard any of them. Let me know.
Thanks
Greg
Equipment List

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Mark Hayenga

Supporting Actor
Hi Greg,
I'm an EE student at UT and I design my own speakers from scratch. I recently finished a design for a high quality bookshelf speaker with a 6.5" midwoofer and a 1" dome tweeter that costs roughly $500 a pair to build. If you're interested you can feel free to pop on over and give my test pair a listen, it'd be good for me to get some unbiased feedback on 'em anyway :). The plans are free if you'd like to build a pair, just don't leak the details as I have something of a financial stake in the design. If you want to build a pair, I unfortunately can't offer assistance on the actual construction (I'm about 3 speaker projects behind and I'm taking a difficult summer courseload) but I'm sure there's a woodshop or two in town that could help out in that department. Lemme know if you want to hear em.
Link Removed
Link Removed w/tweeter polarity reversed to show proper phase tracking through crossover region
Link Removed
------------------
Mark Hayenga
www.hayenga.com
----------------------
"Saru mo ki kara ochiru"

Greg Risley

Second Unit