What's new

Basic acoustic guitar help needed (1 Viewer)

Gui A

Supporting Actor
Hi,

I'd like to fix up the family guitar, as it's about 20-30 years old. The strings have never been changed, and I'm assuming it's time. Especially since the two outer ones are broken...

-What kind of string should I get? I'm just starting to learn, so i'm guessing something soft?

-What are the pegs on that hold the string to the bridge called?

-Does anything need to be done to the machine heads? Oil? It keeps coming out of tune.

-How much would it cost to get it restrung/tuned? I'd like to know an average price so I don't get hosed by a store.

-And last, I can't seem too much info on this particular model of guitar. The label inside says Ventura Bruno, Model V-6, Serial 68938. Has anybody heard of it?
The only info I've found on google is that they've stopped making them, they were imported by Bruno from Japan, and they were made by Fender (I doubt that last bit of info is true though).
The store label on the back of the head is from Bradford's Music Inc. 726-3990 Vista. (which I find odd, since I'm pretty sure my parents were still in Peru 20-30 years ago).

Any info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

EDIT: Here's a bit more background info on how the guitar was acquired.