AVIA problem: any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Thad_C, Mar 21, 2002.

  1. Thad_C

    Thad_C Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried calibrating with AVIA last night, and encountered the following two problems:

    1. There is no distinction between the left and right surround speakers (the voice and pink noise come out of both simultaneously)

    2. While I get the voice indicating "LFE", there is no tone from my sub.

    I'm certain that I've wired the speakers correctly. When calibrating through my Onkyo 797, each speaker channel checks out, and other DVDs reproduce sound correctly through each channel. Any thoughts on why is this happening when I try to use AVIA? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  3. Thad_C

    Thad_C Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vince,

    Thanks for the quick response.

     
  4. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check your manual- every dvd player has some sort of config menu to set at least the audio outputs and the TV format. Many also allow you to change various settings in regard to the look and performance of the player.
    -V
     
  5. Thad_C

    Thad_C Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks Vince for your excellent suggestions. I'm going to try your suggestions tonight when I get home.

    A quick response to some of your points:

     
  6. MichaelGomez

    MichaelGomez Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, you might try your DVD menu. My DVD menu has setup for the different cables. I have mine set to read only an optical cable.

    It also has a default sound field setting. I can set it to default to DPL, DD or DTS. I have it defaulted to DD for simplicity.

    So, the problem might not be in the receiver but in the DVD player.
     
  7. Thad_C

    Thad_C Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vince and Michael:

    You were correct-- it was my DVD player. After hunting down the manual, I found that it was set to PCM, not Dolby Digital/DTS. After the correction, it worked like a charm. Thanks for your invaluable insights!

    Thad
     
  8. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thad,
    Now you will actually be listening to your DVD's in DD or DTS, where as before you were just getting ProLogic.
    Welcome, to the real world.
    Let me know if you notice a difference.
    [​IMG]
    -Vince
     

Share This Page