Audio synch problems on HDTV broadcasts

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Jeff Adams, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. Jeff Adams

    Jeff Adams Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1999
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really don't know where to post this but I am trying it here because I would assume it would be an accessory to buy to fix it. Anyway, I am having problems with the audio matching up to the actors lips moving on the screen. For some reason I see this more on HDTV broadcasts compared to SDTV. How can I fix this because it is annoying. I have friends over to blow them away with the PQ of HDTV but they all complain that it looks like an English dubbed kung fu flick. By the way my a/v receiver does not have an HDMI input so I can't send it to that and then to my tv. Is there a video/audio switcher box with HDMI? Is that how I would fix this?
     
  2. RobertR

    RobertR Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1998
    Messages:
    9,696
    Likes Received:
    165
    I've seen this occasionally too, Jeff. Others have seen it as well. It has nothing to do with the video connection, so using HDMI won't fix it. The problem originates in the broadcast, and would have to be fixed there. The only way I know of to deal with it on the consumer end would be to have a processor with HIGHLY adjustable audio delay to sync with the video.
     
  3. chris_everett

    chris_everett Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard that some digital cable boxes have this problem. What is your source? OTA, cable, sat?
     
  4. Jeff Adams

    Jeff Adams Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1999
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have DirecTv.
     
  5. Dick Knisely

    Dick Knisely Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen it occasionally with the Cox digital cable TV service. Technician's response when I asked about it added up to "...duhhhh...".
     
  6. chris_everett

    chris_everett Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is your system connected now? Is it HDMI to the TV, and audio (analog or digital?) to your reciever? Also, is the audio "early" or "late"?

    I would be inclined to call DirecTV...
     
  7. Jeff Adams

    Jeff Adams Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1999
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, HDMI to tv and digital audio to a/v receiver.
     
  8. chris_everett

    chris_everett Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wild ass guess.....
    The audio and video might be synced on the HDMI cable, and the analog outs may also be synced, but the two aren't synced together. Do you have a composite video (or S-video or component) out that you can plug in to the TV and see if the sync's correct? Also try a digital audio connection if you have that option. I don't know if you can buy a box that will pull audio out of an HDMI stream, although that may be a solution....
     
  9. Robert Bennett

    Robert Bennett Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this problem in spades.

    I have a Direct TV HD box. I am running the video out on component into a Sony 55" 3LCD TV and the Audio on the optical out into my Yamaha 6.1 receiver. The worst is on HD network channels but I see it also on Std def channels to a lessor degree. Changing channels no help. Red button resets no help. I had the direct TV tech com out and he did a download which help for a couple days and the problems are back.
     
  10. chris_everett

    chris_everett Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert, Have you tried the analog audio outs to see if they are synced with the component video?
     
  11. John Gido

    John Gido Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0

    In reading other message boards, DirecTV seems to be notorious for this problem. I, also, have the very same problem with my H20-600 DirecTV HD STB. [​IMG]
     
  12. Neil White

    Neil White Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 1999
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen this with HD broadcasts OTA using an onboard Sony TV HD tuner. I guess it originates at the source although I have wondered if the tuner was at fault.

    I have also seen it with my Verizon FiOS TV, both HD and SD.
     
  13. Barry_B_B

    Barry_B_B Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm looking for answers to the same problem, only I see it on some DVD's as well. I have a 25ft DVI-HDMI cable running from the DVD player and 25ft S-Video from the DirectTV box to my DLP set. My DVD manual states DVI or HDMI cables over 5 meters may cause sync problems so I was looking to confirm this and find out if I would have the same issue moving DVD and satellite box to the TV stand, and using long digital audio cables instead.
     
  14. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Two of my local channels are infamous for having synch problems. If you're only seeing synch problems on (a) certain channel(s), it's probably the source. It's unfortunately very common.
     
  15. Barry_B_B

    Barry_B_B Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Philip; after re-reading the thread it doesn't look like changing cable length or upgrading to HD is going to help much. I don't remember seeing this with my 27" CRT set [​IMG]
     

Share This Page