What's new

AR Pro Series with 27" Samsung TXM2798HF and JVC SA602SL (1 Viewer)

Hi,

This is my first time posting but I've been an avid reader for awhile now. I have a Samsung Tantus 27" CRT (direct view?) model number TXM2798HF. I recently purchased a JVC SA602SL (thanks HTF!) and am wondering if the Accoustic Research Pro Series (NOT Pro Series II) will work well with this set-up. I have read just about everything about component cables in this forum and have noticed that everyone seems to prefer Bettercables or at least the AR Pro Series II. However, my set-up seems to be very meager compared to most (no surround sound, etc), as I just want to use it to play videogames and watch DVDs in progressive scan, so do I really need to get more expensive cables than the original Pro Series? I am so enticed by the $25 cost for these because I have a PS2, XBOX, and Gamecube to go along with the JVC DVD player. As a result, I will be investing in a component switcher, most likely the green one from AV Toolbox. Thus, I will need 2 sets of Component Cables (DVD player to switcher...switcher to TV) since I already have the respective sets for each gaming system. So $25 x 2 for cables plus $90 for the switcher seems alot more bearable to me than $60+ x 2 for cables. I know this subject has been discussed ad naseum but I figure I fit a specific niche. Remember: 27" HDTV, no surround sound/HT, component switcher for 3 game consoles and a progressive scan DVD player. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks!

Justin

P.S. Has anyone heard anything about the Component Switcher from AV Toolbox?

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member