What's new

Anyone hear of Jolida? (1 Viewer)

David Judah

Screenwriter
One of the local high-end shops in my area is closing out a Jolida JD 603A CD player. From what I understand it is based on a Philips player and has a tube output stage.

It sounded very good hooked up to a tube pre-amp and amp, but since it was not hooked up to my equipment with music material I am familiar with, I didn't have as much of a frame of reference as I would like.

Does anyone have any experience with this company or player?

Thanks,

DJ

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
David, Jolida is a reasonably well known company in the audiophile world. I have no first-hand experience with any of their products, but I'm sure if you do a search for the JD-603A CD player on the Digital Drive board on www.audioasylum.com , you will find some information that could help you. One thing I can tell you is that this player was known at one time for skipping. There was some sort of fairly widespread factory defect with this player, but I believe Jolida has corrected the problem. Just be sure you can test the unit for an extended period of time and that the dealer has a good return policy before buying.

David Judah

Screenwriter
Thanks, Keith for the info. I did a little digging, and it looks like they have a new player out that has a much nicer looking case, a sturdier transport, and better DACs. I think I'll wait until my dealer gets one of the new ones in and give it a go.
I want to try something with tubes, and I think a CD player would be a good place to start. Knowing me though, if I like the sound, I'll probably go overboard and two months later come home with a tube pre-amp, then an amp, which will result in my wife filing for divorce shortly thereafter(I'm supposed to be grounded from buying any new gear until 2003).:)