What's new

2.1 vs 5.1 suggestions on either (1 Viewer)

ripcityblazer

Auditioning
Real Name
adrian
i am a college student with a lower budget and i recently had my computer speaker set die. so i have begun research into getting my own home theater system. initially i have been looking at getting a quality set of bookshelf speakers and trying to find a vintage tube amp to drive them i also have an extra sub that is not being used for anything so i was thinking that i should go with the bookshelves. but after reading i keep seeing people raving about getting into a 5.1 can anyone help point me in the right direction im sure people ask this all the time so sorry for that. i was leaning strongly to the paradigm atom's before and haven't had any time to listen to 5.1set ups other than my parent, they, have a denon driving jbl speakers at home that sound pretty good. and i had jbl computer speakers the weird blob shaped ones they lasted for about 4 years, i just don't want to be buying new set up in a few years id rather save and wait and get a good quality long lasting set up in the beginning. also all music is run off computer and itunes and i do have a descent collection of vinyl and turntable id like to hook up to it. majority of it is for music but movies will also be watched using the system as well as the occasional call of duty and its going to be in small apartments for a while so i don't need to blow my socks off just nice clean sound.

-first do i go 5.1 or 2.1

-then do i go vintage or budget newer. receiver

-then suggestions in either direction as i said the atoms were top of my list in the price range.

thanks for any help and sorry for the potentially redundant question

-Adrian

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Hi Adrian - welcome to the forum!