What's new

Surround Setup Noob. (1 Viewer)

MrHardstone

Auditioning
Real Name
Allan
So i've wanted a surround set up for a while (as i'm big into games and movies), but haven't ever seriously looked into it before. So just today i noticed for sale in a local pawn shop an Onkyo TX SR605 for about £110, and after looking at reviews for it online it seems to be pretty good for what i would want to use it for (I just want decent surround sound from my PS3 and Xbox360, while running both at 1080p through HDMI), and it seems to be good value for the money too. As its a pawn shop i'm a bit concerned that if i don't decide quickly enough what to do, the decision will be taken out of my hands anyway. So my question is; is it worth it? Should i take the plunge? I'm pretty sure this particular AVR will cater for my needs, and it seems to be a bargain for the money, but what do the experts think? PS i'm not a complete noob, i know i'll need to factor in cables and speakers too, but speakers won't be a problem, and i'll just get the cheapest cables i can find while i'm out of the house...until payday that is... :P

krixx

Grip
Real Name
Christian