Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HT Power Issue


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   raptorspike

raptorspike

    Auditioning



  • 13 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2010

Posted July 02 2010 - 03:20 PM

OK, so my HT isn't the greatest, but I need a little help. I have a small refrigerator in the same room as my HT. When the fridge's cycle ends, I get a small flicker on my screen. I have the TV (and the rest of the HT) plugged into a surge protector. Is there anything I could route the HT through to remove this regularly-occurring flicker? I was thinking a UPS, but not sure if that would work.



#2 of 6 OFFLINE   JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor



  • 8,572 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted July 03 2010 - 02:15 PM

A UPS will not do anything and neither will a surge protector.  In fact, the best thing to do is try to find if there is another outlet in the room on a different circuit.  If the room was wired properly, there should be.  Then plug the refrigerator into that outlet instead, using an extension cord if you need to.  If the TV is a CRT, not a flat panel, and the refrigerator is sitting close to it, that also might be the cause, since the refrigerator creates a very strong magnetic fluctuation when it turns on or shuts off.


The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#3 of 6 OFFLINE   raptorspike

raptorspike

    Auditioning



  • 13 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2010

Posted July 04 2010 - 04:56 AM

John, your suggestion will be taken. But something still doesn't seem right. I also have a computer monitor plugged into the same surge protector that the TV is plugged into. It doesn't suffer the flicker issue that the TV does. Any ideas?



#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor



  • 8,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted July 05 2010 - 12:58 AM

Are the computer monitor and the TV both of the same type (both CRT, both LCD?)  If not, they will react differently.  You really should list the make and model of all of your equipment so that we have some basis for figuring out your problem.

Regards,


Joe



#5 of 6 OFFLINE   raptorspike

raptorspike

    Auditioning



  • 13 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2010

Posted July 05 2010 - 05:10 AM

Sorry about that Joseph. both displays are LCDs. the computer monitor is an Asus VH202T-P, and the tv is a Toshiba 32AV502U.



#6 of 6 OFFLINE   Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor



  • 8,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted July 07 2010 - 12:27 AM

Hmmm... both LCDs, eh?


 I also have a computer monitor plugged into the same surge protector that the TV is plugged into. It doesn't suffer the flicker issue that the TV does. Any ideas?



Try swapping the outlets on the surge protector that they are plugged into.  Could be something as simple as an SP problem.


Regards,


Joe