Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

SP4805 and the Big Game


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 of 21 OFFLINE   Holadem

Holadem

    Lead Actor



  • 8,972 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2000

Posted February 01 2008 - 05:28 AM

Gee. Last minute decision to host a superbowl party has me scrambling for ways to watch TV on the PJ. I have 3 questions: 1- Is it safe to assume that SD cable would look like garbage and just forget about it? 2- I could just lease an HD box from comcast for the shortest possible lenght of time (like a month) and pick it up today or tomorrow? I have no interest in keeping an HD setup at this point. My only HD ready display is the projector and with the exception of Sunday, I don't watch TV with it. or 3- OTA HD with an antenna and some kind of stand alone HD tuner? What's the best, most cost effective way to set this thing up for just this one event? Thanks. -- H

#2 of 21 OFFLINE   drobbins

drobbins

    Screenwriter



  • 1,870 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 02 2004

Posted February 01 2008 - 05:36 AM

In past Super Bowls, I have run an antenna wire to a VCR, from there to my receiver, and then to a SP4805. Definitely not HD, but definitely watchable.

#3 of 21 OFFLINE   Holadem

Holadem

    Lead Actor



  • 8,972 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2000

Posted February 01 2008 - 06:26 AM

Hmmmmmm reaaaaally. So I guess projected SD cable doesn't totally suck. I think my cable box might have an S-video output. I shall try that out tonight. Thanks Dave. The thing is that some channels are visibly pixelated even on my 32in tube set (my TV workhorse). Perhaps I will get lucky with a good feed on whatever network is showing the superbowl. I am still looking in HD options, any suggestion is appreciated. -- H

#4 of 21 OFFLINE   Doug_H

Doug_H

    Supporting Actor



  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted February 01 2008 - 06:38 AM

I have had mixed results with SD. The 4805 does pretty well compared to many PJ's at SD but ultimately it depends on how good the signal you are feeding it is.
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#5 of 21 OFFLINE   Joseph Bolus

Joseph Bolus

    Screenwriter



  • 2,220 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999

Posted February 01 2008 - 07:17 AM

Don't forget that the 4805 has the (then) state-of-the-art Faroudja de-interlacer/scaler built in to help out with SD s-video sources.

So the picture won't *totally* suck; especially if your Super Bowl station is digitally delivered on your cable system.

However, don't forget that this will be a 4:3 aspect ratio picture centered within the 16:9 projected area. And, if you use your cable box's "stretch mode", *then* the picture *will* suck because you'll be at the mercy of your cable box's scaler. Alternatively, you could use the 4805's "Letterbox" mode, but then you'll typically find that the score/quarter/time remaining graphics will be cut off.

For those reasons (and because the HD signal looks *glorious* on the 4805 in "Native" mode) I would still upgrade to HD.
Joseph
---------------

#6 of 21 OFFLINE   Holadem

Holadem

    Lead Actor



  • 8,972 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2000

Posted February 01 2008 - 07:35 AM

Ha.

I ran a couple of searches and it's looking like the OTA option is out as the rare stand alone tuners out there are a couple of hundred bucks. And then I am floored to find out the Comcast cable box is a measly $8.99/month. Wow. I was expecting much more. Heck I might just keep the damn thing just for my weekly screening of LOST Posted Image

Thanks fellows, the path is now clear. Hopefully I won't be back with technical issues. I've been reading around and it seems pretty straightforward. I will not be bothering with digital connections (especially since apparently the SP4805 needs an adapter for DVI and HDMI), I trust component between the HD box and the PJ will be just fine.

--
H

#7 of 21 OFFLINE   Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm

    Lead Actor



  • 6,887 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 1999

Posted February 01 2008 - 07:40 AM

Another option, since your SP4805 displays HDTV at DVD resolution, is a Panasonic DVD-Recorder with an ATSC tuner built-in. The DMR-EZ17K can be had fairly cheaply and displays HDTV signals at downconverted 480i over its component output. If your cable company sends local channels in the clear via QAM, you could get all your locals that way. You could make DVDs of Lost. Posted Image HDTV looks outstanding on my X1. Posted Image
Philip Hamm
Moderator Emeritus

#8 of 21 OFFLINE   JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin

    Producer



  • 3,219 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2001

Posted February 01 2008 - 07:55 AM

Of course, over the air reception is iffy in lots of places, and getting it to work "on deadline" might be stressful. Consult AntennaWeb for help.

#9 of 21 OFFLINE   Doug_H

Doug_H

    Supporting Actor



  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted February 01 2008 - 08:45 AM

However, don't forget that this will be a 4:3 aspect ratio picture centered within the 16:9 projected area. And, if you use your cable box's "stretch mode", *then* the picture *will* suck because you'll be at the mercy of your cable box's scaler. Alternatively, you could use the 4805's "Letterbox" mode, but then you'll typically find that the score/quarter/time remaining graphics will be cut off.

[/quote]
You can switch the 4805 to 4x3 mode and have a monster picture if your screen allows it. I used Goo paint screen so I can flip back and forth.
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#10 of 21 OFFLINE   Joseph Bolus

Joseph Bolus

    Screenwriter



  • 2,220 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999

Posted February 01 2008 - 09:50 AM

Yes; it'll look *fantastic*. By the way, set the cable box to output 1080i (which is the default) and set the 4805's aspect ratio to "Native" mode (as opposed to 16:9). You'll be *astonished* at how detailed, sharp, and clear the resulting 480p native resolution picture will look!
Joseph
---------------

#11 of 21 OFFLINE   Holadem

Holadem

    Lead Actor



  • 8,972 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2000

Posted February 04 2008 - 01:13 AM

It was spectacular.

(getting the HD box from Comcast turned out to be an ordeal. After sending me an hour away only to be told that the HD box of that area wouldn't be compatible with my area, and that no Comcast office would be open until Monday, I had to shake heaven and earth and speak to like 3 managers at Comcast to get a technician to show up at my door on Sunday morning with the box... which he didn't have when he showed up because his instructions mentioned nothing about an HD box, although I repeatedly asked the CSR drone with WRITE IT DOWN. Luckily, he had a DVR box laying around in his van. Posted Image)

But it was worth the trouble and some more. The picture was stunning. I've never seen anything like it. Hard to believe that a real HD projector would look significantly better. I tell my guests that this thing can be had nowadays for ~$500 and they don't believe it.

While this is a discussion for another thread, is this the type of quality I can expect with the new HD formats?

Thanks to everyone for your help, we had a fantastic time.

--
H

#12 of 21 OFFLINE   chuckg

chuckg

    Supporting Actor



  • 917 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 27 2004

Posted February 04 2008 - 03:33 AM

You should definitely get HD for watching LOST. It's way creepier in hi def! Stuff that was pretty much invisible on a plain-old analog 36" TV is OMFG! on the 65" in digital HD. If you like sports, then by all means have the HD. You can make out details (sweat running down, grass blades stuck in jerseys, whatever) that are completley lost in SD.
--ignore the man behind the curtain

#13 of 21 OFFLINE   Doug_H

Doug_H

    Supporting Actor



  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted February 04 2008 - 03:39 AM

HD-DVD and Blu should be even better as cable/Sat can have a lot of compression.
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#14 of 21 OFFLINE   Holadem

Holadem

    Lead Actor



  • 8,972 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2000

Posted February 04 2008 - 07:52 AM

Sweet. I watched The Matrix Relaoded later last night on DVD, and it's a noticeable downdrade from the crisp, detailed EE-free Super Bowl picture. The darkness of the matrix and the reduced resolution resulting from the wider AR probably account for some of the difference, but not all. -- H

#15 of 21 OFFLINE   Joseph Bolus

Joseph Bolus

    Screenwriter



  • 2,220 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999

Posted February 04 2008 - 01:59 PM


Holadem:
That's the way I feel as well. I was all set to replace my 4805 with one of the newer high contrast 720p LCD projectors, but after sampling the latter I felt that my 4805 was "good enough" for right now. Evidently I'm going to have to wait on a $1500 1080p projector before I'll have enough justification to retire the 4805!

As far as the new HD formats, I can attest to the fact that a good HD-DVD looks better than anything I can get over cable. The colors look better, the contrast ratio seems better, and there are far fewer compression artifacts. (Of course now is probably *not* the time to be starting a HD-DVD collection Posted Image )
Joseph
---------------

#16 of 21 OFFLINE   Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm

    Lead Actor



  • 6,887 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 1999

Posted February 05 2008 - 02:20 AM

Don't you wish you had gotten an HD box years ago. Posted Image

I can't imagine that HD-DVD or Blu-Ray should look substantially better than a good DVD on this projector. As I understand it, the main reason HD looks better than DVD on a 480P projector is color resolution. Even with more compression there will be less banding if there are more colors.

Personally I've been loving OTA HD on my X1 for about three years now. Looks great to me, I have absolutely no interest in upgrading unless my X1 breaks. I think DVD looks great, too.
Philip Hamm
Moderator Emeritus

#17 of 21 OFFLINE   Holadem

Holadem

    Lead Actor



  • 8,972 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2000

Posted February 06 2008 - 06:09 AM

Indeed. Posted Image

--
H

#18 of 21 OFFLINE   Holadem

Holadem

    Lead Actor



  • 8,972 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2000

Posted February 06 2008 - 12:22 PM

Hi. It's me again Posted Image

Any idea why I have these slow moving horizontal bands crawling up on my screen? They are only there when using the HD box -- DVD player is fine. They were there on Sunday as well, but I was so stunned by the picture quaality they didn't really bother me, I figured it was some kind of interference. But now that I am used to the new picture, I can see the bands more readily and want them off my screen Posted Image

Any ideas?

EDIT: Looks like a ground loop problem. Goddammit.

--
H

#19 of 21 OFFLINE   Joseph Bolus

Joseph Bolus

    Screenwriter



  • 2,220 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999

Posted February 06 2008 - 05:46 PM

Some inexpensive component cables are not shielded particularly well. (Were yours provided by the cable company?) Make sure that your DVD player and other video sources (such as game systems or VCRs) are OFF when using the cable source. If that's not the cause of the interference, then try repositioning the component cables a little. In some cases the offending interference will go away after moving the cables as little as a few inches in either direction just as they are emerging from the back of the cable/DVR box.
Joseph
---------------

#20 of 21 OFFLINE   Holadem

Holadem

    Lead Actor



  • 8,972 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2000

Posted February 07 2008 - 12:20 AM

I plugged the PJ in the same outlet as the everything else at the front, and it went away (the interference, not the projector Posted Image ). It was just a makeshift solution for last night, I have no intention of having a power cord permanently run the lenght of my living room, so I will have to find another way. There are other plugs at the back that I will try.

It could also be because I used a cheater plug. Not intentionally, just that the extension cord wouldn't accept the ground plug from the PJ.

So at this point I dunno if it's because everything is in the same outlet, or because the PJ is not grounded. But it works Posted Image.

--
H




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users