1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Denon 1912 - How do you set this up

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by raehza, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. raehza

    raehza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have been using my new system for a few days now and I enjoy it but I have just remember this one particular setting. I was able to switch between Bi-Amp, Zone 2 and a few other options. I picked Bi-Amp because the picture on the Menu showed a 5.1 system but as I understand a bi-amp system is when you hook up 2 amps to 1 speaker (if the speaker permits). I haven't done that.... What would be the correct setting in this case, or does it not matter? Ray
     
  2. David Willow

    David Willow Babbling Idiot
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Real Name:
    Dave
    No, do not select bi-amp unless you are really bi-amping. Run Audyssey and it will correctly configure your speakers. You may have to tweak a little, but overall it will do a good job. Check out the guide in my sig for more info. BTW - Even if your speakers allowed it, bi-amping this way is a waste of time.
     
  3. raehza

    raehza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    David, you may remember my other Thread about my speakers. I did follow your guide, but the first time I ran Auddyssey, it set my Speakers to Zone 2. The Picture showed a 5.1 System and than 2 more speakers in the back of the "couch" on the screen. Auddyssey doesn't seem to set it to the right thing, but I also don't see ANY option that sounds remotely accurate to me. I will write all options its given me once I get off work. I may call Denon and also ask them. Thanks, Ray
     
  4. David Willow

    David Willow Babbling Idiot
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Real Name:
    Dave
    I bet you have the surround speakers plugged the wrong spot. In a 5.1 setup there is no such thing as 'rear' surrounds. Double check your speaker connections.
     
  5. raehza

    raehza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh wow. That would be possible but I could have sworn that I read the label and it said "surround Left and Surround Right". If I did plug it in wrongly, was my sound quality compromised due to that? Anxiously waiting to get off work to check it out. Ray
     
  6. raehza

    raehza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK so I DID have them connected properly. This is what I did. I set my speakers to "Normal" which showed a 7.1 system. Then I went into Speaker Config and turned off Left and RIght Back Surround speakers. I think this is the correct way of doing it. Ray
     
  7. David Willow

    David Willow Babbling Idiot
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Real Name:
    Dave
  8. raehza

    raehza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, You helped me out so much yet again, can't thank you more. Here is what it says...
    So Auddissey DID set it up correctly and I messed it up. It just didn't seem intuitive to me. Thanks so much!!! Ray
     

Share This Page