1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Clear and Present Danger"what with that Loading Crap"

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by Peter Neski, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. Peter Neski

    Peter Neski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    31
    No resume play because this disc has that stupid "Loading "Crap .whats with
    that? why this BR theres no stupid game on it,why?
     
  2. Jari K

    Jari K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    242
    (Removed by me)
     
  3. Paul Arnette

    Paul Arnette Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suspect BD+ is behind this. Clearly there are millions of people looking to pirate high-def images of Harrison Ford point his finger at someone every five seconds. [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Brandon Conway

    Brandon Conway captveg

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    7,961
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    Real Name:
    Brandon Conway
    Currently, BD-Java programmed titles cannot perform Stop/Resume. They will also commonly have a load screen of some kind.

    I've heard that a firmware upgrade in the future may resolve the Stop/Resume issue.
     
  5. Duncan Harvey

    Duncan Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2000
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had my copy of Starship Troopers arrive today and this is a BD-J title.

    Interestingly enough, when you activate the Bonusview feature it reloads the Java and then kicks off the BV from the start of the film (regardless of where you were when you activated it).

    Then upon leaving BV it reloads the Java and drops you back into the film at the point where you left off.

    This is the first example that I've seen of a Java disc effectively reloading and then resuming. So hopefully a firmware update to the PS3 will allow resuming for all BD-J discs as this is currently a real pain.
     
  6. george kaplan

    george kaplan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is turning into my major pet peeve with Blu-ray, and while I've 'upgraded' 30 or so titles so far, I'm almost getting ready to go back to dvd only until this gets resolved. The idea that I can be in the middle of a movie, and then I've got to go through 5 minutes of loading and then manually try to get back to where I left off is just a major pain in the ass, and really pissing me off.
     
  7. RickER

    RickER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Real Name:
    Rick
    I hit pause, and try to be back to my seat really fast.

    But i agree, would be nice to stop, and come back to where you left off on the JAVA discs.
     
  8. Vern Dias

    Vern Dias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 1999
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my HTPC, I have yet to see the "loading" icon stay up for more than 3 or 4 seconds. So, I would blame the player implementation, rather than the underlying architecture. I do agree that finding the point you want to resume from is a pain, though.

    Vern
     
  9. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,769
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've found that most BD-J discs have the "bookmark" feature. So, while you may have to wait for the title to reload, finding your place is easy as long as you remember to bookmark it.

    M.
     
  10. george kaplan

    george kaplan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, maybe it's just my blu-ray player, but it doesn't seem to have a bookmark feature.

    Well, when it's my son's bedtime, and we can't watch again til tomorrow night, that would be a long pause. [​IMG]
     
  11. RickER

    RickER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Real Name:
    Rick

    Yea it would!
    When my kids were little, movie time started WHEN they went to bed. Not much, i was allowed to watch, when they were awake. [​IMG]
     
  12. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,769
    Likes Received:
    2
    If your Blu-ray remote has a green "B" button (which I believe is standard), any disc with the bookmark feature should respond to it by creating a bookmark. Existing bookmarks are usually accessed under scene access, although sometimes I've found them elsewhere (e.g., special features).

    M.
     
  13. Jim_K

    Jim_K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2000
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah 3 to 4 seconds loading is what I experience. 5 minute loading sounds like a player specific issue.
     

Share This Page