What's new

Yet another sub $300 receiver recommendation (1 Viewer)

Norm W

Auditioning
I am new to the home theater realm, and want some advice on an entry level receiver. I just ordered the JBL 135 speaker set, since my wife's primary concern is speaker size. I have in mind a few receivers around the $300 range. I know I can't get much with this, but that is what I must work with.

HK AVR-120 $300 at jandr.com

Onkyo TXSR500 $300 at Circuit City

Onkyo TXDS595 (refurb) $300 plus shipping (can't remember where)

Sony STRDE675 $199 clearance at Sears

Yamaha RXV430 & 520 can't find a place (other than Crazy Eddie's), but maybe in price range

Panasonic SAHE70K $200 at Circuit City

I'm leaning to the H/K and Onkyos, but know nothing about the Yamahas. I was told the entry level Yamahas aren't that good, but that person is very subjective (i.e. fancy talker, but not much legitimate info to back him up)

The JBL's have an efficiency rating of 86db, so I am a little afraid of the H/K b/c of the 40 watt output. The rest have much more power (I know the ratings vary with manufacturers). I want to keep this receiver a while and want to get something reliable, without the gizmos I most likely will not utilize.

Right now, I am seriously considering the Onkyo 500. Please let me know if there are other alternatives out there (The Denon 1602 is $400, which is definitely out of my price range).

I have read many threads which many like the Onkyos, HK and Denon. I just want to make sure I have all the facts and opinions I can get before I choose.

ThomasL

Supporting Actor