What's new

Vandersteen 2Ces Vs. ??? For Home Theater (1 Viewer)

Real Name
Hernan Hernandez
Hi. I'm a newbie here but not to high-end audio and I'd love some of your opinions, especially from those of you familiar with the Vandersteen 2Ces. I am in the process of upgrading my surround sound speakers. I currently have the Wharfedale Moviestar 70+. I am getting rid of those. I am left with my 12 year old Vans and am wondering if I should build a system around them and buy a Vandersteen Center, Sub and surrounds on eBay (probably under $1,200) or sell the Vans and buy a surround sound system from some other manufacturer in the $2,500 region. What would give me the most musical sound and Home Theater bang?

A little about my room, system, preferences and bias. My living room has an unfortunately odd and open shape. Two ends of the living room open up into other rooms - one end into the hallway, the other end into a very small den. The Hallway and den both empty into both opposite ends of the kitchen. There is no practical way to close up my Living room. The actual listening room is small (this is a Manhattan apartment, after all): 11"W x 14"L x 8'H.

Reading these boards I am aware of advice that recommends smaller speakers for smaller rooms. That to me seems centered on the idea that smaller rooms require less sound to fill. As an audiophile I am much less interested in filling the room with sound than I am with good sound, so if a particular larger speaker will throw a better sound stage and have better timing, imaging, resolution and a more accurate timber -- I am all for it.