What's new

the first cut is the deepest...... (1 Viewer)

Mark Sherman

Supporting Actor
and most painful.

As some of you know i work in the glass business. Well friday I got my first "taste" of being a glass guy. I serverly lacerated my left hand from the bottom of my index finger to the center of my palm which required 5 internal stitches and 15 external. the funny thing is that i didnt feel a thing when it happened just the shock of looking down and seeing blood squirting from my hand freaked me out.

they have me on antibiotics and oxycodone for the pain. but im a trooper im going yto work on monday.

TonyD

Who do we think I am?
Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Tony D.
a clean cut won't feel or hurt until a second or 2 later or when you seee it.

good luck, pics?

drobbins

Screenwriter
Real Name
Dave
As a machinist working with metal, I have cut myself many times also. Not quite as bad as what you have but still requiring stitches. I know what you mean about not feeling it. Twice I had someone tell me that I am bleeding because I hadn't noticed.
Not to sound unsympathetic, but as the safety manager for my company, I have to ask - Were you wearing gloves? Looking back, what would you do differently so you don't do this again?
I hope you have a quick recovery!

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Johnny Angell
Many years ago (many, many) when I was working as a stocker in my dad's grocery store I was cutting open a card-board box of goods with a box cutter and the blade went down my thumb.

"Dad, I've cut myself!". I didn't feel pain, but I knew I had done it. We wrapped it in a towel and went to the doctor. I don't recall there being much pain at all. I was much more careful with cutting boxes after that.

I've still got the scar.

Your's sounds worse than my experience, but a clean cut, as mentioned above does produce less pain. I hope you have a speedy recovery.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name