Subwoofer not working

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by JAREED, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. JAREED

    JAREED Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took down my home theater for about a month to remodel my basement. I added a 60'' flat screen TV when I set it back up. My problem is that I cannot get sound coming from my speakers when watching TV. I can get a picture, I have a Pioneer VSX-1018-AH receiver that is several years old and the new TV is a Samsung. I have the HDMI cable running from the Cable Box to the "HDMI In" on the receiver and from the "HDMI Out" on the receiver to the TV. I have it setup exactly as I did with my old DLP TV but I have tried several other hookups with no luck. I did read something in the TV manual about an older version of HDMI not working. I don't know if that is the problem or how to fix it. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
     
  2. JAREED

    JAREED Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I mislabeled the heading. My problem is with the Home Theater sound not working when watching TV. The Subwoofer is a separate problem.
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Have you re-done the set-up? Paired the HDMI to imputs...etc...
     
  4. JAREED

    JAREED Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sam, I am also in NW Indiana. I,m sorry but I don't follow you. I am far from an expert. I have checked and double checked to make sure cables are in the correct position.
     
  5. gene c

    gene c Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5,844
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Bay area, Ca
    Real Name:
    Gene
    If you're getting a picture but no sound then check the HDMI Audio menu and make sure AMP has been selected and not THROUGH. See pg 72 Also make sure the HDMI Inputs have been assigned correctly. See pg.68
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    I mean the set-up in the AVR. Have you "attached" the HDMI1 to input DVD, HDMI2 to cable/sat...etc, etc...???
     
  7. JAREED

    JAREED Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gene, That did the trick. Thanks a lot. Sam, thanks also.
     

Share This Page