NTSF and the iMac?

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Johnny Angell, May 26, 2014.

  1. Johnny Angell

    Johnny Angell Played With Dinosaurs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1998
    Messages:
    6,459
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Johnny Angell
    I've got a Free Agent Pro external hard drive I'd like to use with my iMac for backups, but it is NTSF and apparently that means I can only have read access on the iMac.

    Anyone here have this problem? I've checked out the data on the HD and I either have it on my iMac or I don't want it. How can I get this HD into a file system that the iMac can read and write and, if possible, allow read and write on my Parallels windows side of the iMac? This latter is a "nice to have" but no big deal if it can't be done.
     
  2. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,645
    Likes Received:
    4,490
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Johnny,

    I believe you can do this as long as the Mac recognizes the drive...

    1. Connect the drive to your Mac
    2. Open Disc Utilities
    3. Select the drive on the left panel
    4. Click on ERASE tab on the top
    5. Format: Mac OS Extended Journal
    6. Put in a name for your drive
    7. ERASE free space

    That should make your drive completely readable on a Mac.

    If the Mac doesn't recognize the drive, you could format it in Fat32 format
    on your Windows computer. A Mac will recognize Fat32, but I would still
    reformat it as explained above.
     
  3. Johnny Angell

    Johnny Angell Played With Dinosaurs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1998
    Messages:
    6,459
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Johnny Angell
    Ron, that worked. However "Erase Free Space" was greyed out and I had to select "Erase". Since I didn't care about the data, that was no big deal.

    Thank you.
     
  4. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,645
    Likes Received:
    4,490
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Okay...great! Glad that worked.
     
  5. Michael_K_Sr

    Michael_K_Sr Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Chicago 'burbs
    Real Name:
    MichaelK
    If this backup is intended to be a bootable clone, you also need to verify that the partition table is set to GUID. Click here for how to check it and change it, if necessary.
     
  6. Johnny Angell

    Johnny Angell Played With Dinosaurs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1998
    Messages:
    6,459
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Johnny Angell
    I was going to use Apple's backup system, I think it's called the Time Machine. Is that a bootable clone?
     
  7. Clinton McClure

    Clinton McClure Casual Enthusiast
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    4,163
    Likes Received:
    302
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Clint
    Time Machine is a data recovery solution like Windows restore point, but isn't a bootable clone. You would need to use Superduper or Carbon Copy Cloner to make a bootable image on an external HDD. You can boot a disk image using one of them (I use Superduper) then recover your latest data backup from Time Machine.
     
    Sam Posten likes this.

Share This Page